1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DMR-E100 and DMR-E50 Compatibility problems

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by sdm197, Feb 14, 2004.

  1. sdm197

    sdm197
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East London UK.
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi Everyone,

    I have a DMR-E100 and a DMR-E50, the problem is that when I swop an unfinalised disk from the E100 with space on it, the E50 says the disc is full, and refuses to record onto the disc. I use Panasonic discs DVD-R, has anyone else had similar problems? they seem to work OK the other way round though. I would welcome any further info on this.

    Cheers

    Steve :confused:
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,216
    In theory you shouldn't be able to take a unfinalised DVD-R out of one recorder and use it in another. Even with recorders of the same make and type numerous drives are used which should preclude doing this. That said you've obviously had some success but it's not designed to work like this on set-tops.

    Can you not record on the E50 in DVD-RAM and then high speed dub to the E100 HDD and then burn the whole project to DVD-R from there? You'll less likely to get any critical errors then.
     
  3. sdm197

    sdm197
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East London UK.
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi Rasczak,

    Thanks for the prompt reply,one other question is I have tried to dub in high speed on Sony 4x media, but the DMR-E100 just says it cannot perform this function, although it did successfully high speed dub from RAM to HDD. I have not been able yet to do any dubbing from HDD to DVD-R any ideas??

    Cheers

    Steve.
     
  4. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,216
    Sony DVD-Rs tend to be good quality and you shouldn't have problems with them. My advice in such a situation is try with a Panasonic DVD-R - if that works you know it's a disk problem, if not then we can start going through options. Dubbing to DVD-R should be as easy as going "Dubbing/HDD>DVD-R" and then selecting your programmes, recording mode and away you go. Is it all dubbing that is the problem or high speed dubbing only?
     
  5. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    High speed dubbing is dependant on using the same quality level on the HDD as you want on the DVD.IE:an XP recording on HDD will not dub at high speed to DVD in any quality bar XP.
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,216
    I apologise - did see the "I tried to dub in High Speed" bit - Phelings is quite right. You can only dub in high speed if your not changing the quality. If you are then you need to do it in real-time.
     
  7. sdm197

    sdm197
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East London UK.
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi again,

    The only problem is high speed dubbing standard is OK, I am trying to copy like for like ie XP-XP, LP-LP etc, but no luck so far. Does it matter if the source recording has been edited? because I do take the adverts out of programmes on UK Horizons for example, then try to high speed dub to a DVD-R.

    Cheers

    Steve.
     

Share This Page

Loading...