1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DLP vs PLASMA vs LCD TEST - THIS SHOCKED ME!!

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Suave, Mar 2, 2005.

1. Suave

Suave

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +714
    :lease:

Hello All!

I have been reading this DLP forum for some time now and for some reason, I am just attracted to DLP over Plasma & LCD - maybe it is down to cost as I would want the biggest screen I can get for the best price but with no compromise on picture quality! I admit I am a novice so this post may upset a few folks but I would like to refer you all to a comparison of DLP vs Plasma & LCD that I came across on a DLP Review website which I found very informative. I will not be buying a DLP set until the newer 1980 x 1080 sets come out so I have some time to go but I have read from many posts that many of you feel that a DLP picture is better than that of a Plasma and LCD panel. This website did a comparison test of the major elements between the 3 and to my dismay - it seems that on most counts a DLP set is almost outdone in every area by a Plasma or LCD panel. This leaves me questioning everything and would welcome some input or guidance from you DLP experts! It is a shame that in the UK we have so little choice of DLP sets from which to choose from! Anyway here is a condensed version of the outcome of DLP vs Plasma & DLP vs LCD. For the full articles, I have provided the relevant links so you all can read them for yourselves. I would love to hear all your views on this!

1. DLP vs Plasma:

Picture - Plasma
    Clarity - Plasma
    Colour Saturation & Accuracy - Plasma
    Brightness - Individual Preference
    Video Playback - Plasma
    Size - Draw
    Price - DLP
    Value - Need Dependant
    Computer Use - Plasma
    Viewing Angle - Plasma
    Altitude - DLP
    Lifespan - DLP

2. DLP vs LCD:

Picture - LCD
    Clarity - LCD