1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DLP vs LCD

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Amelia, Jul 12, 2002.

1. Amelia

Amelia

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wanted to know some of the Advantages and Disadvantages of both LCD and DLP. I know DLP uses Mirrors etc, but I was more interested in the issue of reliability.

For example I know one of the Problems with LCD is dead pixels, does DLP have any issues like dropping pixels?

Thanks
    Amelia

2. Guest

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cant say much here as I'm not an expert, but the benefits of LCD are its brightness and its relatively low price. DLP give (on average) a better quality picture, and (the Beng your looking at is a big exception) are usually much more expensive.

One thing you'll have to look out for is a rainbows effect on the DLP image, caused by the way DLP works and can give many people headaches. I've never seen it before myself, but maybe someone else can explain it for you?

3. Amelia

Amelia

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks adidajnz,

Early this year I decided on buying an LCD projector and I have finally got around to it.

I guess the problem started when I was told there was a new projector released (Benq) and it was a DLP for $6000. The problem got worse when I saw it perform and just when you thought things couldn't get more confusing, it turns out I can buy it for $3900 (only $100 more than the AE100).

The problem is I don't know much about DLP. I mean do they drop pixels too?

Regards
    Amelia

4. jrwood

jrwood

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0