1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DLP - PAL or NTSC?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by LlOyDiE2, Mar 6, 2005.

1. LlOyDiE2

LlOyDiE2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello! ( I posted a similar thread on the HDTV section but this one seems more appropriate ) I am new to the tv world - all i know is that hdtv looks so much better than standard tv

I have been looking up information about DLP televisions on American based websites (As i will be visiting there soon). I found them to be very cheap compared to UK, so i had myself set to buy a Samsung 43" for $1,249 ( ~ +/- £800 ) as it was very light therefore i could probably get it on the plane for a small charge due to the fact its only 11" or so above the length limit (as stupid as my idea sounds). I love my consoles - xbox & ps2 and since next generation consoles are all set for high def compatibility, i figured i must get one for this price while im in the States!!! Then a few days ago i remembered - my damn PAL console didnt work on a NTSC tv.. ( i have no clue about tvs but my guess its because pal is 50hz and ntsc is 60hz ) My main question, is, is this resolved in hdtv or would i need to buy a hdtv in the UK to play my PAL games? I would appreciate any help and if anyone could school me on these areas to hdtv as stupid as my problem is.

2. mitor

mitor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +97
    Hi

Well If you have an xbox, you can convert that to NTSC hi-def (with a bit of fiddly work)

The bigger problem would be watching PAL tv and of course the total lack of scarts on american sets....

Plus the 200$ postage

the Hideous customs charge

The VAT on top of the customs charge AND the postage

Plus the difficulty in servicing and warranty...

Oh, and a step down covertor!!!!

Welcome to Rip-off britain! :cool:

3. mrmoo

mrmoo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: