DLNA errors & media streaming

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by Andrathion, Aug 19, 2008.

  1. boon88

    boon88
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi technofan,

    Will give that a try and see how it goes. However, nothing has changed except for the firmware update on my part. For some apparent reason, it just doesn't like the media streaming from TVersity though I haven't really tried any other streaming software.

    Really do feel it's the firmware drivers for the wifi in the PS3.
     
  2. dilfred

    dilfred
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +24
    I have this error also, I cannot be sure when it happened as it's been a while (maybe 1month) since I last tried to stream a file.
    Still not working today. I have the latest patch on PS3 at this time.
     
  3. AL_B

    AL_B
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +11
    Well I've tried the Linksys WGA54G Game Adapter.

    PS3 thinks its hard-wired, but isn't as its going through the adapter.

    Intially, I set the PS3 to obtain an IP address via DHCP, and automatic for everything. In this configuration the PS3 disconnected from the media server, like I experienced when using the PS3's internal wireless.

    So I changed the PS3 to have a manually configured IP address, manually entered DNS server IP's etc.

    Things were looking good, I started to stream a movie down (XviD) but every ~20-30seconds the video will pause, then continue, and so on. During the play-back test I also saw the following errors: 80710092 (PSN disconnect), 80710723, and 80710092. Eventually, the video froze perminantly requiring a "reboot" of the PS3. After a number of reboots PS3 immediately came up with the error 80710102 (DNS error) every time.

    As well as rebooting the PS3, I also needed to power-cycle the router and the PC upstairs to get the devices to re-connect to the wireless network.

    So, although the streaming appeared to be more stable initially, it gradually got worse and eventually failed completely.

    AL
     
  4. boon88

    boon88
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Al B,

    Sorry to hear that your efforts have not been fruitful. I can't say that my experience so far have been flawless, there has been some hiccups here and there.

    Power cycling so far does work for me, I've streamed more than 2 hours of video last night without a hitch. Hopefully with the new firmware update it will resolve this issue.
     
  5. davefeeder

    davefeeder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Loggerheads
    Ratings:
    +17
    I too am still having issues streaming with wireless.

    Like the vast majority of people who seem to be having this problem, wireless streaming of any content worked fine before the 2.5x Firmware updates.

    I really can't see any other cause, it's the only thing that's changed.

    Don't suppose there's a way to rollback the version of firmware?

    If not, does anybody know the best way to try and get it raised as an issue with Sony?
     
  6. AL_B

    AL_B
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks Boon. I'll keep trying.

    Dave,

    Unfortunately there isn't a way of rolling back.

    I contacted Sony support by email, but they simply said ring their support line. To be honest, I just couldn't be bothered sitting on the phone with someone for ages. You just know what it's going to be like, they'll run through all the basics and then probably pass the blame onto another device, such as the router or the PC. I hate phoning helpdesks.

    AL
     
  7. boon88

    boon88
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello,

    Yeah, don't know why some of us who did the upgrade after 2.50 seem to be facing this problem. I reckon it's probably due to a different manufacturer or version for the Wifi chipset.

    Al B,

    I too did drop them an email and they forwarded me a link on the FAQ, anything more than that I've been asked to call customer service and I can't be bothered to wait and listen to them tell something I already know.

    When is the next firmware version coming out?! Arrgghhhh!
     
  8. dnat

    dnat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys, I'm having the exact same issue and I've been tried all possible configuration changes (as I could) to fix it but all (well, almost all) failed. Here is the story.

    My setup, ps3 40g, 2.53 fw. linksys wrt54gl, ddwrt v24.

    My ps3 used to stream videos including some HD content flawlessly till the most recent fw upgrade (I can't say it's 2.52 or 2.53 because initially I didn't realize it was going to be a problem that persists).

    First I thought it was the media server on the pc, so I switched from tversity to wmp11 and nero media home, and it didn't help

    Then I reformated my ps3 by restoring system and it didn't help either. (I also tried turning on/off upnp on my ps3 as some post suggested)

    Then I tried to reinstall v24 on my linksys router which failed too as you may guess.

    Okay, I finally got a solution. I found an old d-link game adapter from my unused xbox (I miss xbmc) and hooked it up with my ps3 to replace ps3's own wireless connection, and the video lagging issue went away.

    I hope sony is aware of the issue and provide us in its next fw release.
     
  9. davefeeder

    davefeeder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Loggerheads
    Ratings:
    +17
    I wonder if a good old fashioned letter would help spark them into action.

    It's all to easy to fob off an email by sending links to FAQs and so on, but a proper formal letter is more difficult to ignore.

    Failing that, we could al;ways start a Facebook group, that seems to be the modern way of complaining! ;)
     
  10. j2048b

    j2048b
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please someone tell me what dlna protocol error 2110 is???? and how to fix it?

    PMS IS AWESOME!! BUT>>> (PlayStation media center)

    for some reason i am now getting this above error and the ps3 is showing my shared folder as empty???

    i have reinstalled the codecs that come with the program and everything.

    it was working like a charm for about 2 hours then BAMM!!! DLNA protocol error 2110 occurred and keeps occurring.

    I did notice that PMS has java 11, and a few pages back someone mentioned problems with java 11?


    Set up currently:
    desktop: windows xp pro, zone alarm internet security/
    laptop-vista/norton 08'/sharing with wmp 11)

    (tried in the past with no luck: Nero media home, which i really wish would have worked, ask me about the probs i had)



    Thanks
    j2048b
     
  11. boon88

    boon88
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi dnat,

    That's the best solution I've heard so far about resolving this issue. How do you install the driver for the wifi adapter?
     
  12. boon88

    boon88
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello davefeeder,

    Yeah, nothing like a good snail mail to the CEO! If you do write one, how about scanning a copy of it and share it with us? :)
     
  13. AL_B

    AL_B
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hi everyone,

    Happy new year and all that.

    Over Xmas I continued to use the gaming adapter, but media streaming still resulted in the familiar errors, but not "disconnected from the media server". Anyway, I am returning it to my friend this week, so its back to the PS3 Wireless.

    I came across some info on the Sony site the other day relating to the error codes....

    Official Playstation website - What do I do if I get an 800 series error code on my PLAYSTATION 3 system?

    Official Playstation website - What does PS3 error 80710102 mean?

    I don't like the sound of doing a "restore to default settings". Has anyone tried it?

    AL
     
  14. boon88

    boon88
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cool, thanks for the info Al B. I'm still having intermittent problems with my PS3 wireless, 80710092 error.

    No I haven't tried restoring to default yet but I think I may give it a go. The worst case scenario in the list of recommendations by Sony was to reformat the entire disk which may or may not solve the problem. Hopefully I won't have to resort to that.
     
  15. dnat

    dnat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    reformat + restore, I've already done that and it did not help.
     
  16. boon88

    boon88
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    *****! Guess the only way out of this is for Sony to release a new firmware that fixes that wireless bug.

    By the way dnat, you were mentioning about the game adapter you installed on your PS3. How did you do that? Don't you need to install drivers for the device on the PS3 to over ride the existing one?
     
  17. Mark Pile

    Mark Pile
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +5
    how do, i get an error also but mine is 7522, i can stream films and pictures all day long film after film now worries even when 4 other wireless laptops are on the go, but as soon aS TRY TO LISTEN TO MUSIC I GET THE ERROR

    MARK
     
  18. AL_B

    AL_B
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +11
    Mark,

    You are a lucky guy! (in terms of streaming movies).

    I don't know what 7522 is, but have you checked the permissions on your Music folder? And also when you look at the permissions, go to advanced and apply the permissions to all sub-folders and files. Just an idea.

    AL
     
  19. Mark Pile

    Mark Pile
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +5
    checked it all, set to share i even set all the folders with music in to share, and it still doing it, so i will be contacting sony to find out *** is going on, i'm not to worried as i got my ipod, but if summat don't work when it's ment to it bugs my bum lol


    mark
     
  20. boon88

    boon88
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Does anyone have any idea when the next firmware release will be out?
     
  21. azitaman

    azitaman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have any issues with my Vista and XP computers; I do get the error from time to time, but it seems to disappear.
    Make sure your PS3 and your PCs are on the same subnet, which I am pretty much sure it would be.

    I have tried these softwares on my PCs and it seems to find them:
    1. Playon
    2. Twonkymedia
    3. Vaio DLNA Media server (comes with the Sony PC)

    My issue is the lip sync problem the video being streamed from Internet; any help?!
    Azita
     
  22. stormy

    stormy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,016
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +319
    I get the DLNA 2104 errors with my Netgear DG834N when the rotuer is in "upto 270Mbps" mode, but if I force it to "G" only in the wireless settings, not a single 2104 error occurs. (Incidently I cannot game with the DG834N is "upto 270Mbps" mode either).

    I have a support ticket open with Netgear about it at the moment, but they seem to just want to blame the PS3, although my other 'G' device, a Squeezebox 3 has issues when the DG834N is in "upto 270Mbps" also, although it doesnt actually affect the functionality for me as I only need about a 1000kbps xfer rate with the Squeezebox.

    With the PS, its different of course, in 'G' only I can stream divx, xvid and 720p mkv's (which have been mkv2vob'd) fine, if I set the router in "upto 270Mbps" its a jerk fest.

    Also, I get about 20Mbps on file transfers to the PS3 in 'G' only, in "upto 270Mbps" I am lucky to get half that when transfering to the PS3.

    So if anyone who is having trouble, try forcing your router into 'G' only for the wireless and test. I know it doesnt help if you have 'N' devices elsewhere (which is my issue with Netgear) but its a start.

    Cheers,
     
  23. AL_B

    AL_B
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hi guys,

    Just thought I'd post an update following the recent v2.60 firmware update. No change to the "disconnected from media server" errors. They still occur frequently.

    As mentioned previously, my setup was completely wireless. I've now moved the router to the computer room and the PC is now wired to the router. PS3 is still wireless. It's not made a jot of difference today.

    Other changes I've tried with no positive outcome are:-

    1) forwarded these ports to the PS3

    Official PlayStation website: Help & Support

    2) In a hidden menu in the Belkin Router changed the "Maximum incomplete tcp/udp sessions number from same host" from 10 to 30. Just came across a couple of articles where people sometimes get UDP FLOOD messages in the security log. I hadn't, but thought I'd increase it anyway.

    Cheers

    AL
     
  24. stormy

    stormy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,016
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +319
    Just thought I would update my situation too, both Netgear and Sony acknowledge that the DG834N has to be in mode 'G' only for wireless to work properly., and 'N' upsets the apple cart.

    So the Netgear went back for a full refund 'not fit for purpose' and I bought an el cheapo 54g router from Ebuyer, streams perfectly with no DLNA errors wirelessly and plays games fine online.

    This means of course no wireless 'N' for me. I would be interested to see if any other draft 'N' routers work with the PS3 when they are set to 'N' mode.

    Seems you don't always get what you pay for, the DG834N was nearly £100 compared to £14.99 for the Ebuyer value one!
     
  25. AL_B

    AL_B
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hey Stormy,

    How's things with the new router? Still ok?

    I'm tempted just to buy one myself at that price.

    By the way, what OS is your PC, XP or Vista Sp1?

    Cheers

    AL

    PS: I looked at that cheep router yesterday, and I'm sure it was £14.99, but now its £24.99. :(
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2009
  26. stormy

    stormy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,016
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +319
    Lo mate,

    Yeh, the router is still fine, its still pretty slow (compared to any wired solution of course) when transfering files from the PC to the PS3 when copying and when downloading stuff from PSN but so far still not a single DLNA error with streaming 720p (mkv2vob'd TV episodes) using WMP11 on Vista SP1. I used to get ton's of DLNA errors even just browsing folders and file listings when using the Netgear in 'N' mode.

    I have had one issue where I get an odd judder/out-of-sync/delay. Its not like a typical bandwidth stutter but I couldnt get to the bottom of it. Not sure if it was video source, the PC, the PS3 or wireless link at fault. It could always be fixed by stopping and restarting the stream though. This has not actually happened since the last firmware update but that could be purely coincidental. I'll keep an eye on it though.

    Looks like the router has gone back to its higher price which is a pity. I would suggest seing if you can maybe test another router though to see if that helps your issues. My Netgear (in G) was ok although not worth the price in the end, and the cheap G router seems fine.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2009
  27. AL_B

    AL_B
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks Stormy, and for confirming your setup.

    Funny you should mention "another router", having borrowed a Linksys a few weeks back, I'm now borrowing a Netgear DG834G v2 of a mate at work. Going to give it a try this weekend.

    Cheers

    AL
     
  28. boon88

    boon88
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi all,

    Guess the new firmware release has not addressed the video streaming problem. I doubt getting a new router would solve the problem as I think the problem lies with the PS3, in specific some driver for the wifi.
     
  29. stormy

    stormy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,016
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +319
    Not sure but my cheapo Extra Value 54g Router from Ebuyer has worked fine boon, no DLNA errors at all so I am not sure its as clear cut as the "problem lies with the PS3", unless its a specific PS3 fault on certain machines?

    Al, how did you get on with your testing?
     
  30. jamiez

    jamiez
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1

    It is - without delivery!
    Opt for super saver and it works out to be 19.78

    Im going to buy one now as im having same issues here and was going to buy a netgear
     

Share This Page

Loading...