DIY Sub(s) integration with AVR included REW charts

avnewbee

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm after some advise or thoughts....

I've been using my DIY LAB12 subs for a couple of years now and I thought I would order a Minidsp to try and see if I can tune the subs and better integrate them.

my current setup:

Main LCR: Kef Reference 103.2
Rears: JBL Control 1 Pro
Atmos: CA Min22
AVR: Sony STR-DN1080
Subs: 2x DIY Eminence LAB12 Sealed
Sub amp: Behringer NX3000

Don't get me wrong they sound great for movies and provide the extra LFE that I don't get from my mains alone. But....I do find for music I enjoy listening to the Kefs in 2ch stereo (full range - no xo) as opposed to with the subs. my AVR might be to blame as i cant seem to find a mode that allows me to play 2ch plus subs. I have to use one of the surround options or if i play music via the AVR's built in spotify then I can select music mode which works well. But this music mode is not available if i play music from my HTPC or FireTV.

Whilst i'm waiting for the minidsp to arrive i ran some rew sweeps with my UMIK 1 mic to see where i'm at currently with my setup.

Please see image below:

sweep.jpg

From the graph you can see the kefs in 2ch stereo provide almost as much spl if not more than with the subs below 60hz.

The Sony AVR calibration utility has set the subs to +3db and the Behringer nx3000 gain controls are only set to 12oclock. So I know I can manually adjust for much higher spl from the subs but it would be too much for my small man cave.

Which by the way is a basement (converted celler) about 3.8m x 3.5m x 2m high.

I am looking to use the minidsp to help clean up the response and help provide more quality bass as opposed to just boosting and potentially overloading my small room. I'm also wondering if i should put a hi cut in to loose the frequencies below 15hz. or would that drastically affect LFE movie content?