DIY sealed sub

Spligsey

Hello chaps
I've been keeping an eye on this section for a while now & have been interested & energised in attempting to make my own DIY sealed sub.
Most of the subs i have owned have been sealed & they seem to give the best results for music & films.
I used to own a Velodyne HGS-18 years ago before the sprogs started to perform open wallet surgery on me :D
I was looking at something like (inches) a 25 (H) x 25 (W) x 25 (D) as this fits nicely into one of the only gaps i can fit a subwoofer in
I would use 25mm MDF.
I'm not after the ultimate depth/abusing foundations etc :D - just a nice mix of low down grunt & a bit of upper bass punch

So, couple of questions (warning - total noob)

1 What size driver would be best for that box side - 15" or 18"?
2 I have a pro stereo power amp upstairs - which is 250w per channel @ 4 Ohms - 150w into 8 Ohms - would i need a slightly beefier amp like a Behringer?
3 Bracing - is it good form to have 2 x Braces - or will 1 do?
4 Bracing - sorry for the stupid question, i see that the bracing has circular/square/rectangle cut-outs, are the cut-outs to add stability - yet still allow the box size to be reasonably big?
5 Is there a special sealant that needs to be used for MDF?

Thanks very much for your help

Johnny.G

Others of greater knowledge will be along shortly Spligsey, but that sounds like a box size with potential :smashin: , but they will need to know the current status of the wallet i,m afraid, have you a budget in mind for the project.

Spligsey

Others of greater knowledge will be along shortly Spligsey, but that sounds like a box size with potential :smashin: , but they will need to know the current status of the wallet i,m afraid, have you a budget in mind for the project.

Hello mate, cheers for the reply
I suppose i have to factor in a possible purchase of a "beefier" amp, if my current one will not do the business in driving a 15-18"