1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DIY Power Cable Co-op?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by PannyAdams, Dec 28, 2004.

  1. PannyAdams

    PannyAdams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Epsom
    Ratings:
    +5
    I'm about to make up 5 power cables (DVD, Plasma, SKY+, Amp & HCPC). Having looked at the cost of a decent cable (they start at £50 for 1m!) and read a couple of the forums I have decided to build my own. Ultimately, this will involve chosing a plug and ICA & Figure of 8 connectors. Chosing Cabling. Getting the Plug and terminal components silver plated, then assembling.

    I recon a very good lead should cost under £30 all in and be much better spec than entry level leads. Obviously, the more of us involved the cheaper it will be (e.g. Silver Plating is nearly the same cost for 1 item as it is for 50!).

    Anyone else interested?

    BJ
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    possibly mate have been looking into Tacima mains leads available at maplin under £30 and the do an IEC to FIG8 adapter.......... was trying sort a "powerbuy" on these but had nointerest from retailers yet.....
     
  3. PannyAdams

    PannyAdams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Epsom
    Ratings:
    +5
    Any links - specs on these.

    Have found a few DIY sites this seems good if expensive:

    http://www.the-missing-link.net/prod03.htm

    Seems to load about £7 on a product just to Silver plate - i.e. £14 per cable.

    Plus Hificables seems to sell a kit with good instructions (see the link):

    http://www.hificables.co.uk/Product...D/2380/v/ae64a164-edea-4832-b87f-f125f8854963

    I recon buying the wattgate 320 iec and cable from the US, the plug from the UK. Getting the plating done ourselves will save quite a bit.

    Mind you, have read on further on the matter - decent Mains cables are pretty pointless without Mains Conditioning.....mind you this is from people selling Mains Conditioners so I don't know how true this is!
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    sounds interesting.....
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  6. PannyAdams

    PannyAdams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Epsom
    Ratings:
    +5
    The cables look quite nice......but the IEC and plugs look fairly ordinary, and ther seem to have no ferrite cores on......I'm pretty sure I could make something better for the money.

    The Conditioners look tidy.

    I can't find any reviews on any of this though.

    Any luck getting a power buy going?
     
  7. madasahat

    madasahat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    why not just buy a decent ups cleans the mains and provides backup in the event of a power cut to allow you to shut down properly
     

Share This Page

Loading...