1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DIY Power block

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by Stereo Steve, Mar 13, 2004.

  1. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have a 2 gang mains socket behind my hifi unit and I plan to fit it with surge protected sockets. Clearly I need to expand this somewhow as I have more than 2 things plugged into it. I have looked at 6 gang extension blocks but the hifi ones appear to hundreds of quid. Now, bearing in mind that my mains uses 2.5mm T+E, would I be losing anything by getting 2 decent plugs, two short lengths of T+E and 2 3 gang faceplates with plastic back boxes and making up 2 extension blocks. It would effectively be 2 spurs and each item would be plugged directly into the mains, without crappy extension block wiring.

    What would I be losing with this over a Russ Andrews power block (the one without filters). I plan to upgrade the actual power leads to my gear with decently constructed ones in the future.

    Any thoughts? Also, those mains cleaners that RA sell that plug in a socket near your gear, are they any good and are they as good as an actual mains filter block?
     
  2. pwiles1968

    pwiles1968
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire - England
    Ratings:
    +10
    Bump - Also interested in the plug-ins, anyone use them?
     
  3. pscolling

    pscolling
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Make one of these :

    http://www.tnt-audio.com/clinica/hydra_e.html

    I did, and it is fantastic...much better than a crappy mains splitter. It does take some time to plait the cable, but its worth it in the end ! Follow the instructions and you can't go wrong !
    I think I could tell a difference in the clarity of the sound produced, however, it could just have been psychological due to the amount of time spent making the damn thing !!!

    Paul
     
  4. Big Adam

    Big Adam
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4
    Paul,

    Which TNT cable did you use with the hydra? Assume it was the Merlino?

    Been thinking of doing this. Just got to find the time!
     
  5. pscolling

    pscolling
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Didn't use the Merlino, I simply followed the instructions for the Hydra and used " three lengths (live, neutral and earth) of 1.5mm solid core mains wire, plaited a la Kimber". This seems to work fine, although i'm tempted to make another using the Merlino cable to see if there is much of a difference.

    Paul
     
  6. trevor g

    trevor g
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    www.russ andrews.co.uk -ref -yellow power/superclamp
    i use on hifi fantastic perfomance guaranteed
     

Share This Page

Loading...