1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DIY - Interconnects

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by CodeThief, Jul 2, 2002.

  1. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Anyone made any???

    Im trying to make some from www.tnt-audio.com but I can't find this Wire-wrap they're talking about using. Has anyone made any and can they recommend some good instructions??

    Thanks

    Dave
     
  2. banners

    banners
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +16
    i have made the described cable. got the wire wrap from Radio Spares. they only serve to companies and not joe publc though which could be a bit of a downer. not sure of any where else that sells the stuff now maplins have stopped selling it. :( imo they are worth the effort if you can find the wire wrap, as in my system they sound pretty good:rolleyes:
     
  3. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks the reply.

    Bum. Don't suppose you have any spare do you??

    Thanks

    Dave
     
  4. KW1816

    KW1816
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    Banners,

    By 'Radio Spares' do you mean RS ?? I know they only used to take orders from companies but I thought anyone could order from their website

    http://www.rswww.com/

    Could have sworn I ordered something from them a couple of months ago !
     
  5. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    DOH!

    Of course, I didnt think of them. I've just had a quick search and can't find anything though. Anyone got any ideas what I should be searching for?? got a product code at all???

    Dave
     
  6. kevenh

    kevenh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Royal County Of Berks...
    Ratings:
    +0
    Some wire wrap here!
    Wow! I registered just to say that!!!

    Oh! Any one can buy from RS.
    There is a cost difference if you buy via your employers account.
    (maybe shipping?);)
     
  7. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks,

    I feel priviledged you registered for that ;)

    Sorry to say that link doesnt work. At least I know it's there though. I'm off to search :)

    Thanks again

    Dave
     
  8. kevenh

    kevenh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Royal County Of Berks...
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    woohoo :)

    That one worked :)

    Is it specifically the Kynar wrapping wire, is that the right one??

    Thanks

    Dave
     
  10. kevenh

    kevenh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Royal County Of Berks...
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dave, which cable at that site are you making?

    Either wire wrap shown should be OK.
    Have you any tools to make using wire wrap easier?
    The kynar one may need a special tool.
    The Tefzel® Insulated Wrapping Wire looks the more usual wire wrap type.
    I haven't used wire wrap for ages but the tools only make it easier. If you're just making one cable, pliers or tweezers could be a work around.
     
  11. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Im gonna make the first one on this page ... http://www.tnt-audio.com/clinica/diyce.html . You need the wirewrap to insert through the satellite cable insulation. Do I need special tools to do something with it then??

    Thanks

    Dave
     
  12. kevenh

    kevenh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Royal County Of Berks...
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK!
    That cable just needs the 'thin' cable characteristic that wire wrap cable has by default.
    i.e. there's no actual wire wrapping going on - no special tools required!!
     
  13. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks Kevenh :) ,

    banners,

    You said that you made this. What did you do about the little RFI box he talks about (and gives no instructions for). did you omit this or use something else???

    thanks

    Dave
     
  14. banners

    banners
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +16
    first, sorry about starting a new thread oops. i made the x1.5 cables. i didnt use a rfi box, i think it's just a ferrite ring / box assembly. if you have problems acquiring the wire wrap i think i may have some left some where.
     
  15. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi :)

    So I guess that you just joined the ring on both RCAs together using one of the wires??? ie one piece of wire wrap for the center pins and the other for the outer rings??

    Thanks.

    Dave
     
  16. banners

    banners
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +16
    i connected the 6 red to the centre and the 6 white to the ground. insulated the two with ptfe tape and also wrapped the assembly with the ptfe
     
  17. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've just made a pair using different instructions (http://www.clefmusic.freeserve.co.uk/audio.htm). At first they sounded really bright but after an hour or so they're settling down. I'll post pictures tomorrow. (I think they look really cool :)

    Dave
     
  18. banners

    banners
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +16
    might be interested in knocking a pair up my self. may be at the weekend. it would be good to compare them to the x1.5's and the other cables i've made. could you let me know if the performance is worth it, and also compared to what?
     
  19. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    lol,

    These are the first I/C cables I've made so I can only compare them to the ****ty thin things that come with CD-Players :) They sound a bit better to my ears but I haven't really done much of a test. I'll test them properly when my Q1s eventually turn up :)

    Dave
     
  20. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    btw, you said join the 6 cables up in your previous post, uh what 6 cables?? have I been reading a different set of X1.5 instructions to you??

    Dave
     
  21. banners

    banners
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +16
    www.tnt-audio.com/clinica/diyce.html . dave try this for clarification. here it is under the heading of "it is number 2 - look how twisted he is". in other pages it is referred to as the x1.5. the only difference is i used red kynar as opposed to red + black for the signal and white for the ground.
     
  22. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Aaah thanks mate. I thought the x1.5 was the first and the X3.0 was the second. Must read things more clearly :) Think I'll make these tomorrow :)

    Dave
     
  23. banners

    banners
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +16
    good luck! i found it helped to superglue the start and also periodically along the length just to keep sections in place. perseverence is required when stripping the kynar, it is just plain hard work. steve
     
  24. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks. I can see it now "Man dies in freak superglue kynar accident!!". I have a bit of a clumsyness with superglue :)

    Dave
     
  25. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Heres some pics of my cable bodges so far :D

    First up, the unterminated Cat5 cable
     

    Attached Files:

  26. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Then the Interconnects :)

    Dave
     

    Attached Files:

  27. banners

    banners
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +16
    dave , your cables look pretty good. pity they're around the back eh? any way built the cables in your link earlier, they don't sound too bad. a little splashy in the treble maybe, but that may tame itself over the next few days. just as a matter of interest, where did you purchase your phono plugs?
    cheers steven
     
  28. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yeah the treble's a little harsh to start with but calms down and I think they sound good. Well, a damn sight better than those ****ty things that came with the CD player :) I got the phono plugs from Rapid Electronics. They're my local electronics supplier. They do have a website but you need to know the codes, which were .... 20-1260 for the red @ £0.69 each and 20-1265 for black @ £0.69 each. The website is www.rapidelectronics.co.uk. BTW, did you cover the cables with some sort of mesh like I did, or leave them showing. I thought they looked cool, but better with the mesh :)

    Dave
     
  29. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    the cat5 is now terminated and looks lots nicer :) I'm still considering covering the end of the plug and the wire with heatshrink, waddya reckon??

    Dave
     

    Attached Files:

  30. banners

    banners
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +16
    thanks for the link dave. i'll try that one later!. didn't cover mine with any mesh. they look better with, but we're here for the sound at the end of the day and it makes no difference in that respect. mesh helps to disguise your cables and with heatshrink gives a professional look. it also makes your diy cables look mega expensive. had a quick listen to the i/c this morning, sounding pretty good so far!
    cheers steven
     

Share This Page

Loading...