DIY home cinema running on a PC?

dave502619

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a software engineer looking to build my own multi channel home cinema. I am currently writing the software to run on a PC and intend to have a number of HD digital sound channel buffers to output. I am trying to determine the best path to take to get this data converted and amplifed to my speakers.

I believe a standard sound card would perform the DAC conversion and then amplifier the signal and combine the channels into the 3 stereo pairs. But i suspect this configuration would not be good enough quality DAC and amplification as my current home cinema setup? - i have a Onkyo SR608 amp with KEF900,500c speakers.

I imagine what I am looking for is a type of card inside my PC to which i can write the sound data my
software produces and output to individual channels. Ideally the DAC will have been done by the card and the analogue outputs will just need to be amplified? Or maybe there are other options to
achieve this goal where the DAC and amplification are done outside the PC? I am aware of the SPDIF however the bandwidth will not be compatible with HD sound i have read? I intend in future to be able to support many individual channels for future formats , eg. 16.

Thanks

I was under the impression with HDMI i might be limited to 8 uncompressed channels? so would get complicated having to write to two HDMI outputs in the future for more channels.

I don't know the details at the level you're working to, but I was just thinking that the current formats with HDMI such as Dolby Atmos and DTS:X will support 7.1.4 or 9.1.2 IIRC, with more channels being added in the future so might be more useful, and any future increases to that will be either supported within HDMI or Display Port, though I suspect that DP may not end up as a normal consumer option.

Gary.

I think he is right about HDMI allowing 8 discreet channels only but that is discreet channels and uncompressed.