DIY Hell

NM20

Prominent Member
Reaction score
O.k, I am no DIY expert, but i am a bargain hunter. I want to build the best possible sub, but with minimum effort.

Suggestions for drivers and amps are welcome. Also alongside any enclosures.

I currently own an SVS 20-39 pc+ and if I upgrade to a retail unit I would probably get an XTZ 3X12, so need something that outclasses those.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1416513427.918484.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1416513455.450140.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1416513474.271293.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1416513494.170441.jpg

You could always take these off my hands [emoji2]

O.k, I am no DIY expert, but i am a bargain hunter. I want to build the best possible sub, but with minimum effort.

Suggestions for drivers and amps are welcome. Also alongside any enclosures.

I currently own an SVS 20-39 pc+ and if I upgrade to a retail unit I would probably get an XTZ 3X12, so need something that outclasses those.
depends how much space you've really got, do you have a floor plan of your room?

if you have bags of space & your budget is the £1k or so you mentioned earlier then 2 big cabinets with an 18" driver in each would mean you can get away with a relatively weak amplifier and still show those 2 subs the door.

Basically as the space you give to the subs goes down then, all other things being equal, the power requirement goes up & the absolute max spl achievable also goes down somewhat.

That looks lovely.

What sort of specs are we looking at? I.e how big?

My room is 7m x 4m with a pitched roof that is 2.5m high at its maximum.

Would the dual opposed with two 15' drivers be a good call?

Just look at the finish on James's subs they are bootiful:love: is that just 1 James or do you have 2, what drivers are they and size of enclosure.

You could always take these off my hands
emoji2.png
did you build them for Dan? ISTR him showing a pic of those ages ago. V nice anyway.

Would the dual opposed with two 15' drivers be a good call?