1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DIY Electric Screen (HELP)

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by Xandia, Jan 25, 2005.

1. Xandia

Xandia

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi im new to the Home Cinema Game after only having a Projector for about 1 month i am looking at some screen options and i have decided i would like to build a DIY Electric screen mainly due to cost

I am needing some help in the area of wiring the screen up
    i am using a roller blind which is connected to a Car Window Motor *FREE from a Rover 520 1989 model* i have bought a PSU for it from maplins

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=42702&TabID=1&source=15&WorldID=&doy=25m1

as u can see the motor is 12v 5amp

all i want to be able to do is control the screen up and down with a IR remote Control like one of these maybe?

http://www.quasarelectronics.com/3142.htm

how to stop the thing when it reaches a certain point ? i thought maybe on including 2 magnetic contact reed switches as motor Limiters

i suppose i would also need to include a 12v Relay to switch the polarity of the motor and to stop it???

If anyone has any experience in the field of motors / relays , any input or other ideas or maybe a schematic *pushing my luck i think* :)

Thanks.......

2. MikeRJ

MikeRJ
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    The reed switches and magnet approach is not a bad one, but I think you may have problems trying to detect when the screen is fully down. If you were intending to put a small magnet on the back of the screen, it will trigger the relay for every rotation of the tube that the screen is wound up on.