Divx player for HD 5.1 Clips

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Walter Sobchak, Mar 7, 2006.

  1. Walter Sobchak

    Walter Sobchak
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    Im not bothered about DVD playback, Ive got a 2900 for that. Just want a divx player that is able to play divx files such as :-

    Video : 570 MB, 1844 Kbps, 23.976 fps, 960*544 (16:9), XVID = XVID Mpeg-4, Supported
    Audio : 118 MB, 384 Kbps, 48000 Hz, 6 channels, 0x2000 = AC3 DVM, Supported

    Is the Snazio the only player thats available? Don't really want to pay £200+ for one tbh. Are there any other players available or do I have to go down the PC route?
     
  2. jbd

    jbd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    as far as I know, no player will play them off the disc. You need to stream them via the Snaz, Buffalo or the new Kiss DP-600 or go down the PC route.
     
  3. normski205

    normski205
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Are those really HD avi files?

    The resolution would suggest otherwise to me and doesn't present any problem to any DivX player I have come across.

    Some players such as the 1920 and NS92 struggle with the AC3 however.
     
  4. Walter Sobchak

    Walter Sobchak
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    They won't play on my Pioneer 575 player, normal divx clips like these play fine:-

    Video : 312 MB, 1012 Kbps, 23.976 fps, 624*352 (16:9), XVID = XVID Mpeg-4, Supported
    Audio : 37 MB, 120 Kbps, 48000 Hz, 2 channels, 0x55 = MPEG Layer-3, Supported
     
  5. normski205

    normski205
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Have you tried a clip with the same video resolution but without the AC3?

    Some players will play it without audio and others just refuse to play full stop. Some of course just play the AC3 no problem.
     
  6. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,916
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +9,369
    A modded xbox with XBMC on will play those. You can pick one of those up for £100 these days. They're what's known as HR.HDTV i.e. half hires resolution. Look a lot better than normal SD files.
    Try www.premodded.co.uk for a new one or check the gaming classifieds as they come up on there now and then..
     
  7. Walter Sobchak

    Walter Sobchak
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    Haven't got any the same res, without the AC3.

    Will a modded xbox play the AC3 sounds?
     
  8. jamieuk23

    jamieuk23
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +26
    modded xbox will play everything !!

    if xvid files dont work on dvd player its due to advanced filters in the encoding >> GMC etc. kiss 600 supports all fliters

    :thumbsup:
     
  9. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +8
    I've never had a problem with AC3 audio on Pioneer 575/470 from DVD, Xvids or Divx. It can decoded it fine, if its not playing they I suggest it might be corrupt / damaged.

    Check you have firmare 2.09 o a 3rd party on your 575.
     
  10. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,916
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +9,369
    Modded xbox plays the AC3 just fine, I use mine all the time for the lost, invasion, 24 etc HR.HDTV files
     
  11. Coolbeans

    Coolbeans
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does a modded xbox play Divx/avi files from a DVD-R or RW?? Most of the comments I've seen so far seem to imply you need to stream from your PC.

    Also will it upscale a DVD that is being played directly from the box??

    Any advice for a newbie would be much appreciated:thumbsup:
     
  12. Walter Sobchak

    Walter Sobchak
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    I have 2.09, Ive had some divx clips with AC3 play fine. It is the clips with higher res that don't play.
     
  13. cactusbob

    cactusbob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +25
    A modded Xbox with a component cable will quite happily upscale to 720p. 1080i is a bit of a struggle for the old thing, but the files you are talking about play just fine.

    CB
     
  14. Walter Sobchak

    Walter Sobchak
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    Who wants to swap my 575 for their modded xbox then? :D
     
  15. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,916
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +9,369
    Coolbeans.. yes a modded xbox will play the files from a DVD-R. I use DVD+RW discs so I can just keep re-using the same disc, it plays those fine too. And yes it will upscale, I haven't noticed any problems with it outputting 1080i or 720p.
     
  16. lansalot

    lansalot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    It very much depends which DVD drive you have in your xbox. The Samsung is generally the most compatible with recordable DVD media, and is the most desirable drive to have in your xbox.

    Look here to work out which one you have, or indeed which one you're about to buy.
     
  17. Walter Sobchak

    Walter Sobchak
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    I take it component out is the only way to get 720p/or Half Def tv divx out of the xbox?

    What exactly would I need xbox wise to play HD divx clips on my Plasma?
     
  18. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,916
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +9,369
    HR.HDTV divx clips, won't play full res HD divx clips, just so we're sure about that!

    http://www.premodded.co.uk/

    Any modded xbox with XBMC installed (recommend premodded for new cos you get all the software on there). The official MS hidef av adaptor , then change to NTSC and set it so it can output 720p and 1080i on the dashboard. Set XBMC to 720p or 1080i and to upscale to the gui resolution. That's pretty much it
     
  19. Walter Sobchak

    Walter Sobchak
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    Not sure to go the xbox route or to run a VGA and optical lead from my computer upstairs via my PC. Is it a lot more hassle the PC route?

    zAndy, won't it play the 720p xvid tv downloads? how much better are the HR.HDTV divx clips compared to normal divx clips?
     
  20. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,916
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +9,369
    Hi,
    No it wont play the 720p ones, at least not 100% smoothly. It'll have a go but it's not really watchable. The HR.HDTV clips are a lot better than the normal ones to be honest, and at least they have DD5.1.

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  21. Walter Sobchak

    Walter Sobchak
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    Maybe Im better off going down the PC route or a Snazio then.
     
  22. Walter Sobchak

    Walter Sobchak
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    How much does an MS hidef av adaptor cost and what exactly is it?

    Is it just the MS component leads?
     
  23. Kitjunky

    Kitjunky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +36
    I paid £5.99 for a component cable a few weeks ago for my xbox1 , it plays the HR,HDTV AC3 5.1 files really well for me running at 720p. I stream all video over the LAN from an old HP netserver E60 running server2003 with a 400gig sata raid array. the whole lot runs like a treat:thumbsup:

    Cant wait for the xbox 360 to be hacked, now that will make a mean media machine
     

Share This Page

Loading...