Ditch Tag go HD?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Tantalus, Sep 6, 2007.

Tags:
  1. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    I remember that DTS24/96 needed dual processors and even some TLC with Steve's firmware to get perfect results. T I think all DP's and 192Rs can do DTS24/96, I am curious if the downsampled blu-ray output works with TAG gear, does the Pioneer BLX70 player do this? If so I'll try our one at work...
     
  2. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
    well I've pre-ordered a Toshiba HD EP35 so I'll give that a go when it arrives
     
  3. milesr3

    milesr3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +83
    Let us know how the analogue outs and DD downmix on S/PDIF compare with regular DD 5.1
     
  4. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
  5. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
  6. Tantalus

    Tantalus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +3
    Um whats the point without Dolby True HD and DTS HD processing? Am I missing something?
     
  7. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
    yes it does seem strange especially after the delayed launch

    nasty remote as well :thumbsdow
     
  8. milesr3

    milesr3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +83
    AIUI it will D to A up to eight 24/96 audio channels carried in the HDMI signal. So you're dependent upon the source doing the decode and supplying the HD output (as LPCM) in the HDMI rather than sending it as bitstream for the 8000AP to decode.

    So it doesn't actually decode Dolby HD etc (from a bitstream) but it can reproduce HD audio from a suitable source.
     
  9. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
    I read it that way too however it seems strange that the option to decode in the AP isn't given

    What price is it going for?
     
  10. milesr3

    milesr3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +83
    The What HiFi interview podcast said £1K.
     
  11. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
    seems a fair price.....if it sounds good that is
     
  12. Bogi

    Bogi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hmm, maybe the HDMI board could be retrofitted somehow to the AV32DP? Now that would be something! :clap:

    Cheers

    (still dreaming and hoping...)
     
  13. christoph

    christoph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liechtenstein
    Ratings:
    +3
    THAT would be very nice. sacd, dvd-a, blurry-disk/hd-dvd with highresolution sound AND TMREQ... :thumbsup:

    any realistic chances that maybe audiocellar could fit in a hdmi 1.3a input and one of the firmware-gods from the late tag employees could write an according firmware?

    i would gladly shell some cash for something like that... :rolleyes:
     
  14. Bogi

    Bogi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +27
    Me too! For sure!:thumbsup:
     
  15. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
    mee three :thumbsup:
     
  16. milesr3

    milesr3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +83
    Not very likely though based on this email from Audiolab today:

    Something I'd like to clear up is that in essence it follows the spirit of the 32/192R (in that it's focussed on sound quality and is quite awesome in that respect. but this is 100% a completely new design. The old architecture was unsustainable. This is modular, so changes in HDMI specification etc can relatively easily be implemented as that section is a separate plug-in circuit.

    The rest of the amp is designed as an audiophile pre-amplifier with 7.1 channels
     
  17. benzol

    benzol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +22

    Oh yes,

    I like my unsustainable architecture.

    After Audiolab has dented their own prices by selling the current processor and amp cheap as chips I can not see that they will gain a lot with the HDMI processor as it seems not doing anything in respect of decoding.

    I also can't see them allowing their "HDMI-board" to be supplied as a kind of retro-fit option?!

    Greetings

    Benzol
     
  18. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
    be interesting to compare it sound wise to the 32DP
     
  19. Paul_G

    Paul_G
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +103
    Kenny, do you have your player yet? I decided to get the EP35. Compared to the price of the rest of my kit, £270 including 7 free HD DVD's has to be a bargin.

    I've played around a bit with two HD DVD's, Kong and 300.
    First Kong. This is DD+. To me the optical connection sounded best. It gave a more immersive fuller bodied sound when compared to analogue. The TAG is obviously doing it stuff better with the processing than the Tosh outputting over analogue. I'm not sure what the bitrate is on Kong. If it's not the full 1.5Mbs (I.e 768kbs), perhaps the difference is not so great compared to std DD.

    With 300, it was a different story. This has a superb True HD soundtrack. Using optical sounded great. Better than a good std DD5.1 track. Switching to analogue sounded even better! Same seemed true with the DD+ track on this disk. Optical very good, analogue better. (But not as good as the True HD). Perhaps if the DD+ was pushing out 1.5Mbs over the analogue this could explain the difference?

    As I get more disks, I will experiment a bit more. In summary though, you can definitely experience the added benefit of True HD, even with a "cheap" player. Defintely no need to ditch the TAG kit yet! Anyone else got one of these players?

    Oh, and picture quality is superb by the way. Especially on a Pioneer LX508D :D
     
  20. Ettepet

    Ettepet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    739
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +19
    Thanks Paul for sharing your experiences on the matter. :thumbsup:

    Do you have a full AV32R bp-192 dp 7.1?
     
  21. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
    Paul

    My EP35 is sitting in the local Post Office as Parcelforce tried to deliver yesterday, but we were coming back from a short trip to France :mad:

    Hopefully I'll be able to pick up today although with Rangers playing in the Champions League tonight I doubt whether I'll have a go with it (C'mon the ' Gers :thumbsup:)

    Watch this space.....
     
  22. Paul_G

    Paul_G
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +103
    Yes I do, but obviously with the bypass you lose the two rear channels. Didn't seem to make that much difference though with Tru HD as the sound had no problem filling the room. :)

    Hi Kenny, looking forward to hearing your views.
     
  23. christoph

    christoph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liechtenstein
    Ratings:
    +3
    not only the surround backs but also (and what's probably even worse) the tmreq functionality :mad:
     
  24. Paul_G

    Paul_G
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +103
    Christoph, you are correct. Even so the Tru HD over analogue still sounded better. It's still early days though with this piece of kit and I haven't yet had chance to sit through a whole film, so these are only my inital findings
     
  25. Bogi

    Bogi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +27
    Thanks Paul for the input in this matter.

    Is the EP35 converting the DD+ to DTS when using the digital out as in previous Tosh models, or is it downsampling to regular DD? It ought to be possible to see the rate by pushing a few buttons on the Tag remote. (I just can't seem to remember which ones.) Shift + OK maybe?

    Thanks again for you input.

    Cheers
     
  26. Paul_G

    Paul_G
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +103
    Bogi,
    On the few disks that I have, the TAG does not show dts, and neither is that option available with the remote. I have seen DD 5.1 and Dolby Digital EX though.
     
  27. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
    Well I picked it up from the local PO and after waiting 35 mins behind granny's with their Christmas cards to New Zealand and the junkies/alkies picking up their Giro money I took the player home.

    First thing I noticed was that I don't have a spare optical cable (****!) so I can't compare with the 5.1 output.

    I only have three HD-DVDs just now Shrek 3 and the two that came in the Toshiba box. I gave all three a quick spin and I am looking forward to watching 300 and comparing it to the SD-DVD of it. First impressions of the True HD Dolby soundtrack was very good, although I do remember the Sd-DVD being good sound wise also.

    P/Q is as expected and looks good at 1080p/24.

    I'll get an optical cable ordered from Mark Grant and hopefully be able to do a comparative test at the weekend
     
  28. Paul_G

    Paul_G
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +103
    Kenny,
    Look forward to it.

    Just plugged a friends PS3 into the TAG and tried a couple of films (Pirates of the Carribean and Casino Royale) thru the optical link. to say that I was disappointed with the sound is an understatement. It was flat and lifeless with a lack of soundstage which surpried me.
     
  29. Ettepet

    Ettepet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    739
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +19
    I had the same experience. It's one of the reasons I'd rather buy HD-DVD. Unless you can handle HDMI-lossless the XE-1 often produces far better sound than the PS3.
     
  30. edward

    edward
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    878
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +33
    Ah! That would explain why the HD Spiderman 3 shook the hell out of my lounge.

    I’ve just had my Uvem HTPC upgraded to handle HD so I can drive my new PJ. Phil set it all up nicely – select LD source once and I get digital audio, press it again and it goes to Analogue Bypass - select a format like LPCM and I'm away.

    So what can I do to tame things if there is no TMREQ? Is it the sort of thing that one could appeal to Stevesky to fix? I suppose, then, that calling it Bypass would no longer be appropriate, but…
     

Share This Page

Loading...