• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

distributing hdmi via cat5/6

smarty87

Standard Member
hi there i am aerial satellite engineer recently interested in distributing hdmi, namely around my home

i want to send my freesat hd pvr and xbox to 2 locations, with ir, bit unsure as the best way to do this
i have been looking at some of the hdmi transmitters and receivers and was wondering if it is possible to add receivers as and when and so on for example if i run cat 5 from transmitter to bedroom is it possible to add another bedroom to the system with the purchase of another receiver or would i have to change the transmitter

please help i have no product knowledge
any responses would be welcomed

Tom

Last edited:

Joe Fernand

Distinguished Member
AVForums Sponsor
Hello Tom

The majority of systems rely on a central ‘hub’ usually an HDMI Matrix when you can patch any Source to any Display.

The Matrix will have 2, 4 or more Outputs – some will be HDMI others HDMI + dual RJ45.

Where the Matrix has dual RJ45 out you then take a couple of CAT6 cables from the Matrix to each room/zone where you want to connect a TV and install an In-room Receiver on the end of the two CAT6 cables.

If the Matrix is HDMI you need to add an HDMI over Twisted pair Extender to each Output of the Matrix.

Very few systems use a daisy chain configuration as that would then limit you to a single source in all connected rooms/zones.

4x4 HDMI Ethernet Cat 5/6 Matrix switch. 3D ready. Route 4 HD video sources to 4 HD displays. Switch 256 combinations over HDMI or Cat 5/6 Ethernet cables

Joe

cjwood555

Hi Tom,