1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dish pointing towards Astra 19.2

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by jshaw_82, Aug 19, 2005.

  1. jshaw_82

    jshaw_82
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've got an old sattelite dish along side my Sky dish, pointing towards the Astra 19.2 sattelite. It picks up the analogue german channels (although picture is speckly) so i probably need to replace the coax. If i replace the analogue STB with a digital one, does anyone know if there are any Digital Services on there, be it german or whatever, and if so would I have to replace the LNB or is the other one okay...?
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    There are digital services on 19.2E - see Lyngsat

    The LNB change will depend on what type of LNB you have on the old dish. If it's a "universal" LNB you might be OK, but the signal-to-noise ratio on it is likely to be quite poor compared to modern LNB's, so it might be wise to change it anyway.
     
  3. jshaw_82

    jshaw_82
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just had a quick look at Lyngsat, looks like Astra 1H has got some free stuff on just need to get a cheapo digital box now. I've got a old Sky box,i'll try that to start, never know.
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    If it's a digital box, you can tune it in manually, but you'll be limited by the FEC and symbol-rates that it's capable of.
     
  5. jshaw_82

    jshaw_82
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've just had a go, no signal found on the frequencies i've tried, although I had a look in the Signal test an the signal strength was half way, but no signal quality.
     
  6. jshaw_82

    jshaw_82
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +3
    Is there anyway to tell if its a univrsal LNB or not
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Not with an old Sky box, unless you can see a maker's name & model number on the LNB. If you had a box which gave manual control over the 22kHz switching tone, it would be fairly easy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...