Disappointed with SkyHD Picture

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Wazza69, Feb 4, 2009.

  1. Wazza69

    Wazza69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi,

    I have SkyHD and a Sony V4000 40" TV. I am using the standard HDTEST settings for the TV and have the Sky box set to 1080i. I am using a good quality Profigold HDMI cable.

    Basically, I am very underwhelmed with the HD picture with Sky HD. It looks great with my upscaling Pioneer DVD player but the Sky isnt really jaw dropping. It looks much better on my friends LG TV. I have a 5m run of cable to the TV, I assume this isnt an issue? The signal strength and signal quality bars are both good in the settings.

    Is there anything that I can check to see if there is an issue with my picture? I am in a apartment building with a communal dish but it looks to be done pretty well and as I said, the signal strength etc is good.

    Any ideas welcome. The installer made up the lead himself, could this be an issue or would it ether work or not work rather than degrade depending on the connection?

    Any suggested TV settings for my TV and Sky HD welcome too!

    Thanks
     
  2. GasDad

    GasDad
    Remembered (1964-2012)

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +758
    What show / channel were you watching ?
     
  3. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    26,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +10,968
    Try Discovery HD.
     
  4. Wazza69

    Wazza69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have all HD channels and its the same over all of them including football
     
  5. BIGbungle

    BIGbungle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Make sure you are watchin the tv through the hdmi signal and not a scart lead. Try umpluging the scart and have only the hdmi connected.
     
  6. boxrick

    boxrick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,037
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +304
    sky hd should look much better than an upscaled dvd...
     
  7. bladedripper

    bladedripper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,529
    Another lcd owner not happy with the picture on sd.:rotfl::rotfl::rotfl::devil:
     
  8. nickeddle

    nickeddle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Yorks Moors National Park
    Ratings:
    +10
    Bigbungle is right, I had this problem on my Pioneer 435 xde when I first got Sky HD when it first came out, once I had unplugged my Scart lead and only had my HDMI connected the picture was fantastic.
     
  9. BrianMc

    BrianMc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +155
    I leave my SCART connected (it goes via a DVD Recorder) but I needed to turn "SCART Control" to "OFF" in the Sky menus - otherwise it grabbed the TV away from the HDMI input.
     
  10. Slider09

    Slider09
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23

    Maybe all of us LCD owners who want Sky+HD should downgrade our tv's to plasma's? :devil:
     
  11. WillieCocker

    WillieCocker
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland.
    Ratings:
    +111
    Maybe you were expecting too much.
    I couldn't do without SkyHD , not because of amazing HD quality, but because once you get used to HD going back to cable SD , makes me want to vomit.
     
  12. jwball

    jwball
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Must admit I own both and prefer plasma.
     
  13. Aeropars

    Aeropars
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Bless....

    Try getting a cost effective 42" + Tv on LCD!
     
  14. Silver Serpent

    Silver Serpent
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +415
    The most common mistake people make is they think ALL the programmes on the HD Channels are in HD.

    Perhaps that is why you were underwhelmed.

    Press 'i' on your remote when watching a programme on an HD Channel to see if it's in HD or not. 'HD' will be displayed in the banner. Alternatively, you can press 'i' when highlighting a programme from the planner, which will reveal the same.
     
  15. Slider09

    Slider09
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    Silver Serpent, have you done any recent settings for SkyHD on the Samsung M87?
     
  16. Slider09

    Slider09
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    You get what you pay for!
     
  17. Silver Serpent

    Silver Serpent
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +415
    No, setting guidelines are still the same as I updated a year ago:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/4668301-post1.html

    If you wanted to get the best out of the set, then an ISF Calibration would be the way to go.
     
  18. paulmapp8306

    paulmapp8306
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    Im underwhelmed with some programs that are definately HD broadcasts. Some DVDs upscaled do appear to be better.

    That said other chanels like discovery are WAY better.

    Example - Hussle on HD isnt as good as "Lord of the Rings" upscaled.

    My TV is a Panny Plasma.

    Also - dont really want to star that Plasma/LCD debate but FWIW theres NO WAY ANY LCD TV matches a decent Plasma at 42" or bigger. There getting closer, and the smaller ones are good, but not the big ones. The picture is still too sharp and Cartoony - ie not natural - on LCDs at present. Too many people think this is good, but its not. I put it down to the "gaming" generation used to un-natural colouring. Maybe in another year or 2 eh - but then we'll all want LED TVs anyway :devil:
     
  19. potshot

    potshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +199
    Totally agree upscaled DVD's have a better PQ than the a lot of the SKY HD channels and programmes and the SD PQ is a step backwards.
     
  20. Bachstrad

    Bachstrad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,077
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +262
    There's definitely something radically wrong with your set up or equipment. If you're seeing upscaled 576i to be as good as native 1080i, there just has to be something wrong.

    You should have your STB changed, or cancel because you're never going to satisfied IMHO.

    I just watched a few minutes of an HD Western made in 1955 on CH4 HD and the PQ was absolutely amazing, you couldn't begin to make a comparison with SD PQ.

    ATB

    Max
     
  21. WillieCocker

    WillieCocker
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland.
    Ratings:
    +111
    Agree totally, upscaling is only usefull if your display is in the 2nd division.:)
     
  22. bladedripper

    bladedripper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,529
    :rotfl:
     
  23. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    If you like a smoother and softer image than upscaling a DVD will suit your tastes as the increased detail in the native HD image including grain, video noise and other post-production processing can be missing from the DVD version.

    There seems to be a significant number of people who will never expect HD unless it's almost a sterile image with no character at all. That said I preferred the DVD version of Fantastic Voyage over the HD version shown by CH4(?) for the exact reasons given above:)
    However that's a rare occurrence, HD versions of Terminator, Back to the Future and Catch a Thief all easily outperformed their DVD siblings even though they were far from reference.
     
  24. planetse

    planetse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +128
    Thanks that's my laptop screen covered in coffee now, after spraying it while laughing.

    I am not getting into the Plasma V LCD debate either, love both my 1080p 50” Plasma and 42” LCD. Most of the comments posted on this thread have covered why you might not be happy with your Sky HD viewing, or have they?

    You say you're happy with the look of the same programs on a friends LG; make a note of how both the Sky+ HD box is setup and the screen setting of your friends LG (hope your friends LG is an LCD panel not a Plasma or they will be a lot of very embarrassed LCD users reading this).

    Only use HDMI from your Sky box, unplug and Scart leads, and try and find a true HD program. If this still looks no better, and think that upscale DVD still looks better you are left with 4 alternatives.

    1, Put up with it, but then waist £9.75 a month.
    2, Change the lead you mentioned.
    3, sell your Sony and purchase the same LG as your friend.
    4, move in with your friend, save on your Sky subscription and enjoy his TV.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2009
  25. potshot

    potshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +199

    So a pioneer KRP-500A is second devision.

    Its down to the rubbish amstrad HD box, my pace sky+ SD pictures are far superior to the SD PQ from the amstrad.

    The first programme my wife saw in SD was the simpsons and her response was the picture looks blurred.

    I am cancelling HD and will go back to my sky+ box. The number of HD channels are limited which means over 50% of my viewing is in SD and its a trade off for better pics in HD to worse pics in SD. Whats really annoying is the small area's blocking on the picture, and on faces it looks like the pixels are dancing around, never had the problems until this amstrad box.
     
  26. Martin J.

    Martin J.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +175
    Worth mentioning that if you disown the HD box, 100% of your broadcast viewing will be SD.
    Here's a thought. The Pioneer stores different settings on a per input/mode basis, there's a chance that when you were viewing the Sky+ box via RGB, it had some of the anti-noise filters turned on. What you're describing sounds like mosquito noise, which they were designed to correct.
     
  27. brewertop

    brewertop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi, i have a sammy 32" 100hx m86 set and a samsung hd box over the lead that came with the box, and im well impressed with the hd picture, the discovery channels are well clear, cant wait for my first hd footy match tomoz.

    just one thing, is the lead that comes with the sky box ok, or are they just run of the mill leads and would i be better of buying a better lead?

    any suggestions would be appreciated.

    thanks
     
  28. DJ Dave

    DJ Dave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Danbury, Essex
    Ratings:
    +51
    I have a Pioneer 436XDE plasma.

    I think I still have a scart lead plugged into the back of my Sky HD box even though I am watching Sky via HDMI.

    I think it's there jigged up to the video as the wife exports Golf Night for the old man from Sky onto VHS.

    Can I rectify this or do it in a better way?
     
  29. Silver Serpent

    Silver Serpent
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +415
    The lead in the box will do the job.

    Some people like to buy a better build quality of cable though, but
    PQ-wise, once the cable is built correctly and is not faulty, you won't see any difference.
     
  30. Silver Serpent

    Silver Serpent
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +415
    Is the contrast on your amstrad box set to medium, and HD Res outputting 1080i?
     

Share This Page

Loading...