1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dipolor &Bipolor

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by soulbrother michael, Feb 8, 2002.

  1. soulbrother michael

    soulbrother michael
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please could someone explain the differences between these two surround speaker types
     
  2. Confucius

    Confucius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +90
    Bi: opposing drivers fire in phase (push-push/pull-pull)

    Di: opposing drivers fire out of phase (push-pull)
     
  3. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +856
    Have a look here

    http://www.whatvideotv.com/articles/faq.html

    under surround speakers.

    Basically Dipoles have 2 speakers firing out of phase with each other, Bipoles have 2 firing in phase and are a bit more directional.
     
  4. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    And dipoles tend to be a lot more expensive
     
  5. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +856
    Tell me about it!!:rolleyes:
     
  6. soulbrother michael

    soulbrother michael
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi Jase ,you seam to know a bit about surround speakers,what i want to know is do i replace my mission 771's for bipolors and also use a second pair of bi's on the side walls or would it be ok to keep my 771's and only get one set of bi's.I think i would obtain a more direct rear sound if i kept them is this correct ?.I will be primarily watching movies
     
  7. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +856
    Hi

    Are you using a Denon receiver (3801/2)??

    If you are, you have the option of having a 2nd set of surround speakers (surround B). So you could get 2 pairs of bipoles, one pair as Surround A, the other pair as rear centres and keep your 771´s as Surround B (for multichannel music)

    Or just get 1 pair of bipoles and use them at the sides keeping the 771´s as rear centres. Personally, I´d go this route. This would work well if you have another type of amp/receiver that has the rear centre channel/s.

    Playing around with the different combos is the best help I can suggest as different systems sound different to each person!!

    hope this helps

    cheers
     
  8. soulbrother michael

    soulbrother michael
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info Jase,when you say "multichannel music" do you mean dvd audio,or a dts concert ,by the way i have the 3802
     
  9. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +856
    For multichannel music either music dvds, DTS cd´s, dvd-audio or just using the 5/7 channel stereo mode.

    On the Denon you can also specify surround A & B together if you want and have them all running!

    If you do have different speakers as surround A & B remember you have to set the channel levels up for each set i.e channel levels for surround A, levels for B & levels for A/B. Its done at the main setup menu.
     

Share This Page

Loading...