1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

digitheatre DIY?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by bunyboy, May 17, 2004.

  1. bunyboy

    bunyboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +15
    ive got the original (just dolby digital) black videologic digitheatre and the sub has the infamous BUZZ annoying me thru all the speakers.. ive been told by videologic that it "sounds like a faulty transformer"

    is there a way i can fix this myself?
    the system isnt worth very much and it would be silly to get an engineer to do it and charge me more than it would cost to buy another one.. its either trash it or try and fix it myself..

    any DIY tips on what to do!?

    thanks all
     
  2. o THE CHAD o

    o THE CHAD o
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +83
    i would ring or email videologic direct and see what they can do first.

    i hear their customer service is second to none,worth a shot before binning your kit.

    i have one myself and think its awesome imo. :smashin:
     
  3. bunyboy

    bunyboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +15
    i did - they told me it sounds like a faulty transmitter and i should contact a local electronics engineer to fix it.

    the problem is.. that's gonna cost me more than the system is worth so unless videologic do me a favour and fix it or i can figure out a way of doing it myself, its not worth the money it'll cost to fix..

    annoying though.. coz i bet its not that hard to fix if only i knew how!
     
  4. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    53,074
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +29,017
    I'd guess they meant transformer and it should be relatively easy to swap over if you can use a soldering iron. I'd doubt the part costs more than £10.
    While not an electronic guru I could do it to mine if needed. Where are you?
    Dave
     
  5. bunyboy

    bunyboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +15
    yeah.. sorry.. they did say transformer.. i just typed transmitter coz im an idiot.. im in south london.. maybe you could email me thru it in an email or something.. the soldering isnt a big deal but figuring out what a transformer looks like (never mind where to get another one) is the trickiest bit..

    some tips from somebody would give me a confidence boost to give it a go!

    cheers
     
  6. bunyboy

    bunyboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +15
    just taken the top off the sub.. and realised ive got no idea what im looking for.. what's the transformer look like and might it be in the lower level, not the top section of the subs insides?
     
  7. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    53,074
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +29,017
    If I have time I'll open mine up and let you know what you're after, might take a few days though...
    Dave
     
  8. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    53,074
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +29,017
    Ok, I've had the top off and you're correct the transformer is in the bottom. To get in there you need to undo 10 external screws that require a foot long crosshead screwdiver or a flexidrive of some sort. Unfortunately I don't have the tools to undo the external screws so I'm stuck. I would think you probably also need to undo the two forward facing big screws within the top section. If you can open yours up and post pics I can still try and talk you through it.

    Dave
     

Share This Page

Loading...