1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Digital TV novice some observations and questions

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by DaveMac3, Dec 4, 2004.

1. DaveMac3

DaveMac3

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just bought a SonyKV32fq86 and had Sky (satellite) installed and my TV viewing experience has been transformed and I am not sure that it is for the better!! As a digital TV novice I have made several observations and have some questions which I would welcome comment on. I have noticesd several differences from my old analogue viewing and wondered whether this was due to a) digital TV b) 100MHz or c) my particular TV.

Most noticeable is the difference in quality between different broadcasts, when flicking through Sky, some channels look great and some look very ropey and I am finding my viewing is being dictated by what looks good on the TV
    More annoying is when viewing some TV e.g. Soaps (my wife honest!) the characters seem detached from their background and each character seems almost like a cardboard cut out.
    Finally the TV cannot cope with lots of movement eg sport such as football or flashing lights as on the Record of the year show on TV tonight. Is their anything I can do to improve matters e.g. change TV settings, buy some better SCART leads etc.
    I have also posted on the SonyKV32fq86 thread in case these problems are with this TV. Any comments, solutions will be gratefully appreciated.

2. Owain

Owain

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah, thats because its digital some channels use low bitrates, it can be quite pixilated.

also try checking your signal quality.

3. spocktra

spocktra

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +40