1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Digital Tape Loop?

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by mark67, Nov 8, 2003.

  1. mark67

    mark67
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Tag AV32r SP has just returned from Tag having had the192 kHz DAC's Fitted. Much improved on the 94kHz Dac, much clearer and open and a wider sound stage.
    I would recommend anyone who is thinking about upgrading their DAC's in the AV32, to do so.

    I had the 192kHz DAC's in my Tag DPA 32 Pre/Dac, but they didn't sound as good as they do in the AV32. Strange really, I was expecting them to be alike.

    Tag have also Fitted a Digital Tape loop:confused: .
    Can someone explain what this is and more importantly an example of how I would use it?

    Cheers.
     
  2. cskates

    cskates
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    AV32Rs prior to the 192/24 upgrade could only output digital sources on the digital outputs, now that you've got the DAC upgrade the digital outputs will do analogue sources as well. Only useful if you've got someting connected to the digital output like a minidisc or CD recorder.
     
  3. Miron

    Miron
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +49
    cskates,
    here's additional information to complete the facts:
    TAG introduced this loop inofficially a bit earlier, so there are even some AV32R in the field with this loop, but without 192kHz and bp.
    The only way to find it out is to give helpdesk your SN and they should be able to tell you. Or you simply try it on your unit :)
     
  4. mark67

    mark67
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So how would I connect my Minidisc up?
    Do I take the digital out on my MD and connect it to an analogue I/P on my AV32?
    Digital only uses a single cable.

    Have I got the idea wrong?
     
  5. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    mark67,
    reading your posts I never know if you just make jokes with all of us or you mean it seriously? Starting with speaker conections on AV32R (?!) up to this one. You are very probably the only one having AV32R who does not know these things.
    My advice is to read the manual first.
    If it was no joke: I did not intend to offend you but I simply can not believe this :)
     
  6. mark67

    mark67
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No joke intended.

    My AV32 is a reconditioned bought directly from TAG, I think it's DOB is late 2000. Thats why it had the 92Khz dac's, that I have just had replaced.
    I have never heard of a 'Digital Tape Loop' and the Manual doesn't metion it either. If in doubt ask. As I was once told.
    That's what I have done. :p.

    I do know how to connect all my other kit to the AV32 now I have had it a couple of weeks (192 Upgrad taking 2 weeks also).
    When I first orderd from TAG I didn't know much about the AV32.
    So I am still learning.

    ATB.
     
  7. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Then I'd advise you to read as many as possible (technical) threads from the past of TAG Forum. There are/were pretty many smart heads there (some of them posting here too as I can see). A lots to learn from them.
     
  8. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now sold my 32r with the 192dac's but mine did allow for the tape out to see a digital input mixed down to stereo.

    There was a turn it on and hold down button trick to get into the loop management.

    Rgds
     
  9. mark67

    mark67
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you tell me how to do the same?
     

Share This Page

Loading...