Digital SLR, or Compact?? Any advice?

Unlight

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I want to buy a new camera. However, I simply dont know what to go for.

It will be mainly used for snapshots, as well as the occasional small intimate gig sessions, so it has to be good in low light without flash.

However, I'm a complete novice when it comes to photography. Will a DSLR completely baffle me? Im scared I simply wont be able to use it.

Also, if I go for a DSLR, I wont be able to afford any extras for ages, so I'll be "stuck" with the kit lens -will this be any good for my needs?

Any help or info would be very much appreciated!

"good in low light without flash" is not something that applies to compact digicams in my experience. DSLR's can be used up to iso 1600, or even more, and are ideal for gigs etc.

I thought that too - however I've seen one compact - the Fuji F10 compact that takes pics at up to ISO 1600!

If left in auto mode an SLR is no more complicated to use than a compact camera; you switch it on, frame your shot and press the shutter release.

The kit lens will not really be very useable in low light. You could take advantage of the versatility of SLRs and use something like the Canon 50mm/F1.8 lens. This is available for less than £60, is a good lens, and gives you 2 stops more aperture than the typical kit lens.

Bill

My advice re that would be beware! A lot of compacts go to iso800, but at that speed are so noisy you can't use the pics.

DSLR's are much better than compacts in low light without flash but it may be an expensive purchase for only "occassional gigs". Also you wont be getting anywhere near the full potential out of the camera if you only stick to Auto and the kit lense.

Yeah have to admit that indoors my prosumer compact is a bit dissapointing. With flash the pics can be washed out, without they are simply too noisy and grainy. Occasionally it comes up trumps but not enough of the time.