1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Digital recording from SKy

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by markbirks, Feb 16, 2004.

Tags:
  1. markbirks

    markbirks
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    As a basic package subscriber I simply want to be able to record Sky programs to HDD for later playback. I'm not too keen on paying £250 for Sky+ and THEN pay £10 p.m. and I have no interest in the sports or movies channels which would forfeit the subscription - unless there are some unmissable deals of course.

    I've recently tried one of those Phantom PVR jobbies - to no avail I might add - and simply want to use the Autoview output of the SKy Digital box to trigger a digital recording for later playback.

    Is this possible or do I have to buy a freeview PVR and hook the SKy box into a SCART box ??
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Freeview HD based boxes are only for DTT, they can not be connected to an external source.

    The most practical option would be to find yourself a TIVO although you probably wouldn't fancy paying the subscription (monthly or one off) however it'll do the job.
    There are other pieces of hardware out there but most are HD/DVD combined units and are still quite expensive which judging from your post you wouldn't consider good value either:)

    Prices for both SKY+ and HD/DVD units will continue to drop but in the mean time perhaps a VCR with sat control (they may be some models with that excellent feature), of course thats a tape based analogue system.
     
  3. blindlemon

    blindlemon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not only will it "do the job" - it will change the way you watch TV!! :clap:

    Seriously, for recording Sky a TiVo is unbeatable! Sky+ is a pathetic attempt at emulating TiVo functionality which has only sold as many as it has because of the incessant advertising on Sky and other media.

    In addition to simply recording programmes, a TiVo will:-

    - Record a whole series (Season Pass)

    - Record everything with a certain Actor, Director, Keyword etc. (Wishlists)

    - Give you a 20 day searchable EPG for Sky programmes.

    - Let you watch one programme while recording another.

    - Suggest or automatically record programmes for you based on your viewing preferences.

    - Deal intelligently with clashes (ie. will try to schedule recording of a repeat if the first showing clashes with something you have marked as higher priority).

    - Work with Sky AND Freeview at the same time.

    - Allow you to upgrade the hard drive easily to 240gb without running into any problems (unlike Sky+).

    - Allow you to fit a network card (wired or wireless) and control your TiVo via the internet if you have a broadband connection.

    There is the slight issue of the subscription cost (£10 per month or £199 for a lifetime sub), but once you get that out of the way (I would always recommend going for a lifetime sub), you're laughing :)

    It is currently possible to pick up a TiVo on eBay for around £330-360 with a lifetime sub. This is the cheapest option as unsubbed machines typically go for around £165-220, but you still have to pay for the sub (£199). If going for one with a lifetime sub, make sure you get either the TiVo Service Number or the TiVo Account number AND Surname of the seller, and check the status of the sub with TiVo Customer Service on 08702 41 84 86 before you bid.

    Of course, you could go for an unsubbed machine to start with and pay monthly until you were sure it was worth buying the lifetime sub. I'd guess that would be around day 3 ;):D

    And remember, the value of your TiVo will most likely stay the same or go up :smashin:

    You can't say that about any other DVR :devil:
     
  4. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    Ouch:eek:

    A bitter TIVO owner who can't accept SKY+ is too many people the better option:)
    Sorry could't resist, been a couple of years since I've read such an amusing anti SKY+ post from a TIVO owner:rotfl:
     
  5. Venom1969

    Venom1969
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    blindlemon, you've given a very very strong argument in favour of TIVO. Only problem is thou, the hard drive is bound to fill up. Then you have to start deleting things. (Never been a fan of deleting stuff). Is there a way to get the material out of the Tivo hard drive?
     
  6. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    I'll answer the question as blindleman hasn't come back to the forum yet:)

    Upgrading the TIVO hard drive(s) is probably on the to do list of every user, those that don't already run 240Gb plus already:)
    While it isn't as straight forward as a certain other HD based unit you can find retailers selling pre configured hard drives and as always the TIVO forums will tell you everything you need to know.
    As for achieving recordings then yes you can connect a VCR or DVD recorder to TIVO and make copies of the stored programming.

    TIVO Community has a dedicated UK section.
     
  7. blindlemon

    blindlemon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not that I haven't come back - just that I've been rather busy doing disk upgrades for TiVo owners and posting on the TiVo Forums! ;)

    I'm not bitter either - in fact I'm very happy as I have 2 TiVos - one with 240gb and the other with 120gb. :D:D

    And neither have suffered any ill-effects from being upgraded either - unlike what happens when you upgrade a Sky+ (according to digitalspy!). :devil:

    As Starburst says, archiving off a TiVo is simplicity itself via the VCR or TV SCART outputs - but when you've got 240gb who needs to archive? :D

    Also, if you're into a bit of hacking, it is possible (allegedly;)) to extract the recordings directly to your PC via a network card.....

    Now, remind me, how do you fit a network card into a Sky+....... ?
     
  8. Dr Downey

    Dr Downey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Remind me how you record 2 Sky channels at the same time with TIVO? :D

    Doc
     
  9. blindlemon

    blindlemon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    2 TiVos :D:D
     
  10. Dr Downey

    Dr Downey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +0
    & 2 sky boxes!!!!!!!!!!!

    ;)

    Doc ;)
     
  11. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,381
    No, you stick to the better PQ that you get from a Freeview box :devil: with BBC/ITV!

    Mark.
     
  12. blindlemon

    blindlemon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oops! :eek:

    (I feel a bout of TiVo vs Sky+ PQ comparisons coming on... ;))
     
  13. Dr Downey

    Dr Downey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +0
    LMAO! :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :suicide:
     
  14. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Mr Lemon, do you sell tivo for a living? You ought to give it a try! It needed you when it 1st came out, and then it might not have come to the current sorry state of affairs.
     
  15. datsunman

    datsunman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Any subtle (or unsubtle) hints on how to do this? I was looking at getting a Tivo for exactly that purpose but could only see Telnet, FTP and a web interface that was supported over the network.
     
  16. blindlemon

    blindlemon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have a look at deal database forum ;)
     
  17. blindlemon

    blindlemon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahhh! Now wouldn't that be fun :)

    Unfortunately, as you hinted, nobody does.... any more :( So I have to work for a living - although I do do the occasional TiVo upgrade on the side;)
     
  18. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I'll bear you in mind!
     

Share This Page

Loading...