Digital out. Optical in.

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by simon11, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. simon11

    simon11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    I bought a Philips television with a digital sound output. But then bought a Samsung home theater system used. Only to find that the sound input is optical and that the two are not compatible.
    I have my television connected with the Anologue left and right sound. This is o/k but only transmits stereo and I get a bit of lip synch.
    Is it worth changing my HTS to a compatible philips model with digital in.
    Are there enough television programs with 5.1 surround sound to make it worth it? Would it get rid of the lip Synch?
    Any help please?
     
  2. Rich Marshall

    Rich Marshall
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kirkby In Ashfield
    Ratings:
    +585
    You can pick up a converter for around £20.
    http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/Optical-to-Coaxial-Converter.html

    except you need the one which converts coaxial to optical, google it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  3. simon11

    simon11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Excellent! Thanks very much!
    I had been told that there wasn't such a thing. I tried a search before which came up with nothing. I must have been using the wrong search terms.
    I will order one now.
    Thanks again!
    :clap::thumbsup:
     
  4. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,654
    Both types here for £14.99 , its the first place I looked so you might get em cheaper,

    Maplin > optical to coax

    Heres the thing though , in all likelihood the digital out on your TV is in stereo , most are , meaning you wont be that much better off than with the analog outs.
     
  5. simon11

    simon11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks I managed to get one on E-bay for £6.00 Plus the leads for a few quid.

    I thought digital out on the television would pass 5.1 if the program was recorded with it?
    How can the tele convert a 5.1 sound input to stereo out on a digital signal? I thought only analogue did this!
    :rolleyes:


    Anyway it may help the lip synch!
     
  6. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,654
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  7. simon11

    simon11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    You could very well be right. I have been doing a search on the subject. Some say you can't get 5.1 from a television others say you can depending on the tele.

    My set up is a philips with a built in freeview box. So it might be possible? As some say the 5.1 is lost going to the tele through an hdmi cable from the STB. And not by the television itself.
    I will only know for sure when I have tried it. Not a lot lost though if it doesn't work.

    I have just seen from the links you supplied. It is only available on HD transmissions anyway.

    Forgot to say I have a sky box as well but not HD.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  8. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,654
    If the sky box has optical out then you can get surround from the movie channels and some others , you dont have to have a HD box.

    If you hit the information button on while watching the channel it will say if the program has Dolby surround or not.
     
  9. simon11

    simon11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks! But my sky box aint got one. I only have free sky.
    So I was thinking of maybe getting a HD freesat box instead of a new sky box.
     
  10. simon11

    simon11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
  11. bobbe79

    bobbe79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3

    I have just bought my first 5.1 HTS but not received yet. Am I right in thinking that I will run an optical lead from the Sky box directly into the HTS or can it only be done via the TV - i.e. HDMI/SCART lead to TV and then optical out from TV to HTS?
     
  12. dwhite

    dwhite
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    7,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Whitehaven
    Ratings:
    +1,805
    Optical from sky straight to the HTS. Going via the TV will be stereo only.
     

Share This Page

Loading...