1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Digital NTL with analogue TV or do I need a digital one?

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by ScottyToo, Oct 20, 2002.

1. ScottyToo

ScottyToo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm a newbie to this so please don't flame me (too much;) ) for asking silly questions but your help would be appreciated. I've been searching aorund and reading up on what I can but I still have these and many more questions....

[1] I have NTL Digital and currently an Analogue TV. I am about to replace this TV with a proper AV solution (i.e the 6.1 decoder outside the TV). Do I get any benefit by paying for a digital tuner?
    I currently can't get teletext at all (unless I tune to a terrestrial not via NTL box). Would I on a digital set? What about EPG? I see the normal channel guide but it would be good if the TV could understand it and perhaps pass it to the video

[2] Could I mix an aerial input (for free-to-air digital TV) down the same coax as the NTL feed or would this cause a lot of cross contamination?

[3] A bit outside this forum but while I'm on a flow - do all digital tuner equiped TVs also do analogue? (i.e. is a digital tuner really a digi+ana tuner)

[4] Back on track - do you only get 5.1/6.1 from a local source or is it broadcast? i.e. my current knowledge suggests you only get stereo and Prologic via NICAM.

[5] Is NTL ok or would it be worth going with Sky for better pictures/sound? NTL seems good to me for telephone use and broadband so I'd prefer to stay where I am (I think!)

Thanks is advance

2. ScottyToo

ScottyToo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    So would I be right in saying that acutally these aren't stupid questions and the fact is no one can answer them or is it no one is willing to help out a newbie?

3. kevenh

kevenh
    Standard Member

Products Owned: