Digital interface - whats it for?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by the whistler, Mar 22, 2006.

  1. the whistler

    the whistler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +133
    Just to start another Sky HD rumour .....

    On the back of the sky+ box there is a plate which according to the manual 'covers a general purpose interface - for future plug in modules'

    As far as I know there has never been anything to plug into this. Could it be just remotely possible that Skys plans were/are to develop a HD module to plug into the standard sky+ box?

    Think about it. Whats the differerence between sky+ and sky+HD? A decoder chip, a hdmi socket and the software. Maybe a plug in module is all that may be required to upgrade to HD.

    Ok its just a wild theory, but what else could the interface be for?
     
  2. nanookles

    nanookles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Clutching at straws.

    Why on earth would Sky want us to have an easy and cheap option of upgrading existing equipment to HD when they can make it as difficult and expensive as possible?
     
  3. the whistler

    the whistler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +133
    Who mentioned 'cheap' ? This is sky we are talking about :)

    The 'upgrade' would also probably involve a higher capacity hard disc. So it could be a relativly expensive upgrade
     
  4. nanookles

    nanookles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok then "cheaper" than a new box. No point in doing that.

    What they could do is let you keep the old Sky+ outer casing and provide you with entirely new contents to allow HD, including new board, hard drive, rear connections, slot in card, software upgrade tc.
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975



    The interface was there when SKY D launched in 1998, I don't think SKY were thinking about HD back then:)

    There were rumours of a PACE developed DD5.1 capable module, rumours of a possible route to an external CAM and interface for a more advanced keyboard/joypad.

    All amounted to nothing:)
     
  6. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    cant see a reason why you couldnt buy a box (im talking once the initial HD box thing is launched and sold in sufficient quantity) that allows you to watch HD channels, and record them on to the original Sky+ box's hard drive.....

    just for arguments sake say the HD box comes out at £400, but once initial sales are done they drop it to £300.....they could sell this add on box for £180 so people can at least watch HD and just use their current + box for recording......i'm sure a lot of people will otherwise just wait for Sky to drop the price for the HD box very low......so for sky this would be a bonus as they would sell these decoder boxes, then people are bound to think, 'wait a minute, i'm not managing to record much on this' and buy a HD box anyhow...heh
     
  7. Fusewire

    Fusewire
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +104
    Don't forget though that what it was intended for and what it could be capable of are two different things. :smashin:
     
  8. the whistler

    the whistler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +133
    If its a digital interface, then it should theoretically be able to communicate with any add on that is connected to it as long as both ends use the same protocols.
     
  9. nanookles

    nanookles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  10. a3nige

    a3nige
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    South North Yorks
    Ratings:
    +3
    Not having sky+ i can't help, but why not take the cover off and see what is there?
     
  11. nanookles

    nanookles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Standard 40 gig
    160 is erm 160gig
    and apparently HD is something like 300

    But my point being, even with 300gig you will not get a lot of HD content stored.
     
  12. a3nige

    a3nige
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    South North Yorks
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sorry nanookles, I meant the cover 'covering'

    "On the back of the sky+ box there is a plate which according to the manual covers a general purpose interface - for future plug in modules"
     
  13. wyrdness

    wyrdness
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    278
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    It's for an interface card that connects the set top box to a PC. These are used when writing software to run on the box, such as interactive applications. You need special firmware in the box and a very expensive software development kit too.
     
  14. BruceH

    BruceH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Weston-super-Mare
    Ratings:
    +9
    Correct.
    It is/was used during interactive application development.
    The application could be streamed to the box through the card interface, removing the need for a broadcast rig, or broadcast simulation rig.

    From memory these cards used to burn out a lot !!
     

Share This Page

Loading...