Digital (Freeview) vs Analogue quality

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Roger, Feb 9, 2003.

1. Roger

Roger

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone.

I’m new to DTT and have just bought a Daewoo DS608P box. It was either this or the Labgear as I wanted a box which used Setpal after reading generally good reviews/experiences.

So far very pleased with the easy set up and quality of this box.

Talking generally about analogue verses digital.
    Does everyone find that digital is always better than analogue?

When comparing the main analogue channels to their digital output, although the digital picture is better overall some analogue pictures appear to show more detail (e.g faces and skin tones) but usually along with unwanted ‘extras’ such as ghosting and fuzzy text.

Text on digital is much better than analogue so picture-wise digital wins.

Turning to sound.
    Although digital is fine for most of the time to my ears it is not as good as Nicam Stereo.
    For example Nicam sounds more open and general background sounds (drama, films etc) can be clearly heard and provide extra atmosphere (near CD quality?) whereas Digital sounds rather flat and one-dimensional (MP3 quality ?).

Also from what I have heard so far the frequency range with Digital is not as wide as Nicam.

So sound-wise Nicam Stereo wins.

I have tried viewing Digital and listening to Nicam (best of both worlds) but Digital has around a two second delay so is out of sync with analogue.

I should mention that I use a Yamaha DSP-A5 AV Amp with Yamaha NS-1000M stereo speakers and Yamaha NS-C150 centre speaker. On the rear channels I use medium sized Acoustic Research speakers.

Does anyone agree with my initial impressions?

If you are technical, I would be very interested to hear your comments

Roger

2. Kevo

Kevo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +146
    This is an old chestnut :rolleyes: