1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Digital Coax Cable?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by 117, Aug 12, 2002.

  1. 117

    117
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I have just brought a basic hc setup (pioneer 510 receiver, and tosh sd110e etc.) and have realised that I do not have a digital coax. cable, I apologise for my stupidity, but could i use a standard phono cable in its place? If this is not so, could someone please tell me where i could find one online for under £10, cheapest ive seen is £20, and being a poor student i cant afford that much more just now.
    Thanks v.much for your help
     
  2. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Currys sell a digital co-ax cable for about £10 but you can make do with an analogue cable.
     
  3. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    117 (never spoken to a number before),

    I've got a nice 1M fully shielded, 75-ohm cable (gold-plated phonos blah blah) sitting here doing nothing. Can be yours for £6. Sexy red one too. Oooh.

    Mike.
     
  4. 117

    117
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks everyone, yeah Flimber if you would care to email me m8 i will take the cable off u for £6 inc p and p is that ok? email is this address john@16-32systems.fsnet.co.uk. And as for my name, well if u have ever seen first wave on sci-fi on sky digi you would know what im on about;)
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I too am a poor student and find Lektropacks to be very helpful. especially for long, none standard items.
     
  6. 117

    117
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ta m8, will have a gander @ lektropacks:)
     
  7. bxd

    bxd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +136
    Hi,

    Another option is to make up (solder) your own cable. Use good quality aerial or satellite cable (75ohm) and phono connectors from Maplins. You might even get some connectors with screw terminations if you're not happy about soldering.

    Brian.
     
  8. browellm

    browellm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    afaik, there's no point getting hung up on having 75ohm cable because as soon as you slap phonos on it the impedance goes all-to-cock anyway. The best thing to do is simply listen and make your mind up from that.
     
  9. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Even though RCAs are not 75 Ohm it is still worth buying 75 ohm cable, co ax, properly screened. It makes a difference.
     
  10. 117

    117
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ta again everyone for ur replies, but have sent flimber the cheque for his decent one so that should do me fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...