Digital Camera

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by danunited, Sep 4, 2007.

1. danunited

danunited
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All

I hoping that someone is able to give me some basic advice. Firstly I would like to explain that I have no knowledge at all about digital cameras or do I know exactly what I am looking for(don't think that there is any point in pretending to have knowledge). I went into Jessops Photo Shop at the weekend and was give some information but before buying a camera I need to get some more help.

Basically we are going to South Africa on Safari next month and we also plan to visit the beautiful sights around Cape Town. We are looking for a easy to use digital camera that will take good shots of the wildlife etc and also good pictures of landscapes / mountains etc. This is a once in a lifetime holiday and it is important that we get some great pictures.

We have been told that we should look for a camera with a optical zoom + x6 and with Megapixels of about 7. Are there any other features and guidelines I need to look for? Is anyone able to give more advice?

Our budget was approximately £200 but we are a little flexible with this. Can we get a good camera for this kind of money? We have been recommended the following cameras:-

Panasonic Lumix DMC TZ3
    Canon Powershot A71015

Are these good cameras for the kind of photos we are looking to take? Are these cameras value for money?

Please can anyone recommend some other cameras in our price budget that is a good camera and is good value for money?

I hope someone can help. Sorry I don't have too much knowledge of cameras.

Many thanks in advance.

Dan

2. spaceman763

spaceman763

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +78
  3. Yandros

Yandros

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +528