Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Digital camera still photos

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ebbone, Feb 17, 2004.

  1. ebbone

    ebbone
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi

    I'm looking to buy a hard disk recorder which will allow me to transfer photos from a digital camera.

    Some of the Panasonics have pc card and/or SD card slots but I'm not sure how I'd transfer directly from a digital camera using a cable?

    Does anyone have an ideas?

    Thanks.
     
  2. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    The HS2 does it perfectly for us!

    Download the photos directly into the unit via the card slot; it then placess the photos into nice little albums on the HDD (or dvd-r / RAM if you prefer), which are kept seperate from the normal video recordings.
     
  3. ebbone

    ebbone
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply. More questions.......

    Is the hard drive big enough?
    How many photos have you got on it?
    And is there still enough space for recording from the TV?
     
  4. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,586
    Your options are the Panasonic HS2 or Panasonic E100 which, as Wellsi states, can be used for transferring your pictures to either HDD or DVD-RAM (you can't send them to DVD-R - out of all the DVD formats only DVD-RAM can mix pictures and video recordings).

    The HDD on the HS2 is 40GB, on the E100 it is 80GB. The smaller size HDD offers around 9hrs capacity on XP mode or 18hrs on SP mode (standard mode). Obviously how many photos you add is going to alter that but unless you've got thousands you won't notice the lost space. Besides photos can be copied from HDD to DVD-RAM and back again as well as being copied back to a SD Card/Compact Flash (etc) in the Card Slots.
     
  5. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    Agree; it's simple maths.
    Your 128 MB photo card will store some 200 - 300 photos depending on resolution.
    8 lots of 128 Mb will be around 1 GB; that's just 3% of the HS2's HDD capacity filled by some 2000 photos.
    And you can offload it onto RAM in any case.

    Remember video is the chunkiest file size; stills take up hardly any room at all! (And the DV input is great for moving piccies too).

    Do it!
     
  6. ebbone

    ebbone
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very simple maths! lol

    Thanks for all the info.

    Any other makes with HDD I should be considering?

    And how would I transfer the photos if they don't have card slots?
     
  7. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,586
    You can't. Only the Panasonic models quoted (and the non-HDD Panasonic E60 and it's upcoming replacement the E65) have this feature.
     
  8. ebbone

    ebbone
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks - Panasonic it is then!

    What PC Card adapter would I need to transfer from a Memory Stick?

    Thanks.
     
  9. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    It's a standard PCMCIA (laptop) type card slot; you can pick them up anywhere for around £8 - £12.
     
  10. ebbone

    ebbone
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all your help people.
     
  11. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,038

    I have a HS2. I am looking at card adapters. Do all adapters allow copying from HDD to adapter? I have seen some (Ebay) that are described as readers.



    ebbone,

    A single adapter is around £5 and a multi reader (SD,SC,MMC and Memory Stick) is around £15 (excludes compact Flash due to bigger size).

    It looks like I need a multi reader (for SD and Smartcard) and a Compact Flash reader.
     
  12. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,586
    Can't really answer that one I'm afraid. I actually won the card adaptor I use with my Canon Powershot Digital camera and the HS2 so didn't need to 'research' which adaptor to buy. The adaptor I have is just labelled "PCMCIA Adaptor" with another label on the back: "PCMCIA PC Card ATA".
     
  13. steve 111

    steve 111
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newport, Gwent
    Ratings:
    +1
    The one I have is called a PCMCIA 4 in 1 Adaptor. It accepts all card types except Compact Flash.

    If you're going for the Panny E60 it has a PCMCIA slot and a SD card slot. So if you're camera uses SD cards you don't even need to bother with an adaptor.
     
  14. mikatt

    mikatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have a Panasonic E60 and a PCMCIA multi adaptor that I recently got from 7Day shop and you can copy from the E60 to your camera memory card. I hope this is of some interest

    Mike
     
  15. ebbone

    ebbone
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Based on all that's been said, I think I'll be going for a multi-adaptor for the flexibility.
     
  16. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    Is it possible to put jpegs on a RAM from a PC and play them on the HS2?

    I have a LG4040 and managed to do video from the PC to a E50 ok.
     
  17. mikatt

    mikatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    You can produce a video cd with Nero using jpegs and play on the panasonic. But no album facility that I can see. DVD's a bit large for still photo's I think
     
  18. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    Hi Mikatt

    Whilst I'm okay using the HS2, my sister is trying to play still photos on her TV and only has a DVD player and a PC with a CD-writer;
    Does Nero allow you to compile still photos onto a playable VCD?
     
  19. mikatt

    mikatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes if your player supports VCD.
     
  20. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    Ta for that...
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice