Digital audio output on digibox?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by rjs1974, Dec 10, 2002.

  1. rjs1974

    rjs1974
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    If I buy a digibox with digital audio output, how do I connect it to my DENON 2802 amp, since I am already using the "Digital In" on the amp for my DVD player's audio output?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,210
    Surely you've got more than one digital input on the amp?
    Is it a coax output on the box and you are using the coax input on the amp and its the only one?

    Either use an optical for the dvd drive if you have one spare or you can buy coax to toslink convertor boxes and switchboxes from lektropacks and keene ( do search).
     
  3. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +69
    The only Sky Digital receiver with digital out is Sky+.
    The connection is optical Toslink. As Mr.D says, you would plug the optical cable into a free optical-in on the amp. It doesn't matter what the input is called, it should work.

    If you haven't got a digital connector free, then there are switch type devices available, along with the optical<->coax converters mentioned by Mr.D.
     
  4. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    Sky+ or Sony VTX-750, -760.

    Mike.
     
  5. rjs1974

    rjs1974
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't mean a Sky digibox, I meant a free to air digibox.

    Presumably, as long as there are no broadcasts being made in DD5.1 or even ProLogic, there is not currently much point in having digital audio output anyway?
     
  6. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    Not quite. Sure, you'll get your two channels without a digital output but better digital-to-analogue conversion is to be found within most a/v amps. I used to route my Sony 760 (Sky box) through a Denon AVC-A1D (which has great A -> D and uses Denon's AL24 processing) and it sounded noticeably better than it did when using the digibox's analogue output.

    Mike.
    Mike.
     
  7. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +69
    Hello Flimber

    I meant a proper digital out, not the two-channel only job fitted to the Sony boxes ;)

    Didn't want to encourage someone to buy a Sony box, thinking that they were going to get DD5.1 from it (if only :( ).

    But yes, point conceded, the Sony boxes do have the Toslink. Would be convenient for someone with an auto-switching amp or receiver.
     
  8. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,210
    Actually I'm pretty sure my Nokia gondigital box has a coax digital output. It'll be PCM stereo rather than a 5.1 bitstream but I never use it as the coax input on my amp is used for my HTPC output. It probably is a step up in quality compared with the analogue outputs though.
     
  9. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    IIRC, the Nokia Mediamaster 9850 (?) was the only ITVDigital box with a coax output.

    Mike.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice