1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Digital and Analouge Audio

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by NLR, Mar 4, 2005.

  1. NLR

    NLR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi to all, i think this site is great and very informative. I just want to know that if i connect my Sky+ box to my amp, Pioneer AX5i, via Optical for sound will i still need to connect the analogue L/R cables as well or will the optical take care of all sound. Also if i connect my amp to the my plasma via Component, will this be fine for the on screen menus that the amp provides. Sorry if these are simple questions but the manual seems to contradict itself sometimes about how these should be connected. All help much appreciated.
     
  2. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +990
    Optical will be fine for sound, no need for analogue.

    Connecting the amp via component should be fine to view the OSD.
     
  3. NLR

    NLR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the quick reply Tejstar, just wanted to check i was doing it right.
     
  4. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +990
    No worries that's what the forums are for :)
     
  5. NLR

    NLR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to be pain, the same applies to my dvd, which i use for audio cd's as well, if i connect this to the amp via Optical will i still need the analogue for audio cd's.
     
  6. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +990
    If you connect via digital (i.e. optical) then when listening to cd's you'll be using the amps dacs. If you connect it through the analogue inputs then you'll be using your dvd players dacs. You can experiment with both ways to determine which unit delivers the best sound. However I would have thought the dacs in the amp you have will be more than fine.

    The simple answer is that if you connect via optical you will be able to get sound when playing cd’s.
     
  7. NLR

    NLR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thankyou again.
     
  8. felix_li

    felix_li
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure how AX5i works but AX5Ai can do the following:

    You can connect both via optical & analog. During playback, you can switch from analog to digital via "Source Select". I think different DACs have their "tastes" so you can see which "taste" is the most suitable for that source, e.g. vocal needs soft and drum needs tight bass control.
     
  9. NLR

    NLR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will give it a try..thankyou
     

Share This Page

Loading...