1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Digital accessories

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by GRD, Oct 29, 2002.

1. GRD

GRD

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for repeating myself, bt I am new at this game and not sure which forum is most applicable. So here goes.

After a lifetime of film photography and a couple of years with a one meg digital camera, and after reading countless reviews I finally decided to give Digital Photography a serious go. Over nearly 40 years I have never had a problem with Minolta so I purchased a Dimage 7 – not a cheap camera you will agree. It is only now, as I try to add on a few accessories that I have discovered what no-one seems prepared to say in public. Digital photography can seriously damage your wallet. The misrepresentations about it being cheaper for prints appears to pale into insignificance when compared with the situation on accessories. According to my local photographic shop I am limited to Minolta’s own brand. No more can I turn to independent third parties to offer value-for-money. So a cable release? – yes sir that will be £50. A flash gun? – certainly sir, that will be £300 unless you want the cheap one at £180. A 2X converter? Now there you are in luck. Minolta do not do one but there is a third party one that will fit at £45. Filters? Again in luck because there is a third party mount that accepts a wide range of third party filters. Battery packs, eye cups? Sorry but it will have to be Minoltas own which cost an arm and a leg. Should I have bought another make? No – they are all the same in the digital field. Moreover, by continually changing the models they ensure that even their own brand accessories are frequently limited to just the one model.