Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

differnce between panasonic PW7 and PW8?

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by Davidgilmour, Aug 14, 2005.

  1. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +15
  2. strees

    strees
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The difference is mostly regarding HD compatibility.
    Although the PW8 has a comp connector as standard whereas the PW7 doesn't.

    If your not planning on being an early adopter of High Definition broadcasts
    or pre recorded discs then the PWD7 is a bit of a steal (around £1k).

    If you want to ensure you are compatible with HD later this year/next year then go with a PWD8. The 7 Series Display will be compatible with these technologies though only when playing back NTSC 60Hz R1 Discs (which could cause problems)

    With the PWD8 you can get a board for HD.
     
  3. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +15
    I already have a PW7 and no money left to upgrade, in holland we dont get HD TV for like 10 years (dutch economy is the worst in europe thanks to the euro) so I dont need a HD TV yet. But what do you say about the 60 Hz ?
    So I will never be able to play PAL HDDVD-s on my Panny ?
     
  4. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    8,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,268
    I have a PW7 with a HTPC connected and it does play back all the hi-def demo's I have thrown at it so far.. it obviously scales them down to its native resolution and to my eyes the 720 stuff looks better than the 1080, maybe because of less scaling.

    I think there are issues with connecting Hi def players to the PW7 than only output at a fixed resolution and refresh rate that the panel will not support - hence no signal detected. If you use a scaler or a HTPC to scale, it should work fine.

    Appreciate some comment on this as I think I have it right, but it is a very confusing area :confused:
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2017
  5. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +15
    What is a HTPC ?
     
  6. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    8,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,268
    A Home Theater Personal Computer.... basically its a pc that lives in the lounge, it is connected to my PW7 via DVI and to my amp via spdif (digital audio out).
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2017
  7. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +15
    Ah, I see. And the HD trailers from Microsoft :D .
    I have a PW7 with JS RGB/VGA board in slot 1 and Component in 2.

    No room left for DVI, what other way am I gonna connect HD gear in the future?
     
  8. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    8,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,268
    You should have at least one free slot... The 37" has a VGA port plus two slots and 42" has a VGA port plus 3 slots..

    For an experiment you could just take your pc to the plasma and connect it via the VGA port (disconnect the JS Tech thing) and playback some hi-def files off your pc.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2017
  9. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +15
    lol, the JS thing is connected to the VGA, so you are right, still one left for DVI :D

    Where can I download some HDTV stuff on the internet?
    Will try to watch it with the VGA connection.

    thanks
     
  10. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    8,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,268
    Here are some demo's to get you started Microsoft Silverlight

    Also, try a google search on 'usenet'
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2017
  11. jcinzano

    jcinzano
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    aside from upgrading the features, there's not much difference. not much point to evolve their SD unit since there's not much likelihood that they'll even make a 9 series next year.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice