1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Different cables....do they make a difference???

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Evil_Homer, Oct 25, 2005.

1. Evil_Homer

Evil_Homer
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I'm new to all this stuff, I've just bought a HD LCD TV and I'm still using my old scart cables from years ago.

My question is do the super dooper cables make that much of a difference the the picture quality? If so, can someone please point me in the right direction as to which ones I need, I have Xbox, PS2, Progressive scan DVD and SKY.

Many Thanks

2. Pete Delaney

Pete Delaney

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +598
    I think the folks who sell super dooper cables at super dooper prices will tell you that they make a difference.....but if you already have a cracking picture I doubt you would notice any difference (apart from not being able to afford a pint) :cool:

The best way to solve it would be to try before you buy....a good HIFI shop may let you 'borrow' one or find a mate who has some. To be honest this topic has come up before and I do remember a post from someone who bought the said expensive cables and he noticed no difference, nada, zip, nothing at all :eek:

Pete.

3. andrewfee

andrewfee

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +500
    I would say that, to a point, more expensive cables do make a difference. I'd say maybe £15-20 on a SCART cable max. Argos were selling a really nice Hitachi SCART cable a while back, and it's definitely better than the cheaper no-name cables out there.

As for types of cables, it makes a huge difference. Unless you're on a CRT, use Component cables (red/green/blue/red/white) wherever possible instead of SCART, for example. HDMI/DVI should be better than component, but it's not always the case.

4. tosh hunter

tosh hunter