Differences in sound quality between ipod generations

jian

Does anyone know whether a particular generation of ipod sounded better?

I'm referring in particular to the 4th generation onwards. To me, sound quality is more important than video playback, photos etc and was wondering whether it is worth buying a cheaper refurb.

Thanks.

Steven

Senior Moderator
All iPods upto 5.5G use Wolfson DACs. 6G uses Apple DAC. All iPods with line-out should sound good

Now apparently the thinking is 5.5G iMod > 6G > 5.5G stock. 6G stock headphone out is meant to be great. Of course the 6G is still relatively new

rodney_nz

Thanks, but do you know what they are like standard via the headphone out?

Hi Jian, Im no expert in sound quality etc but I purchased some Shure E3c for my 4G Ipod and to me it sounded extremely dull compared to my 5G Ipod using the same files etc. .
May have just been my headphones combination but I prefer the sound from my 5G compared to my 4G
hope helps

spl23

iPod 4G (iPod Photo) sounded dreadful. The headphone amplifier used was underpowered, and could barely drive the supplied headphones - you could hear very nasty distortion on piano music and the like. Aftermarket headphones with lower impedance (i.e. pretty much all the in-ear canal phones) made it sound unlistenable.

I've been very happy with the sound of my 5.5G iPod - a bit of hiss into low-impedance phones, but very nice otherwise. My 6G is on order...

Falp

Steven

Senior Moderator
Which iPOD models have line out? :confused:
There have been cables which use the iPod's dock to bypass the internal circuitry of the iPod for many years

Falp

There have been cables which use the iPod's dock to bypass the internal circuitry of the iPod for many years

Does that mean all iPOD models with dock have line out?

Falp

Does anyone know whether a particular generation of ipod sounded better?