1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Differences between DV and analogue

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by arief_lim, Jul 11, 2002.

1. arief_lim

arief_lim

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    I'm new in this video thing, so maybe you guys could help me out...
    I have Sony DCR-TRV140E camcorder, right now I'm using a TV tuner card to transfer the video into computer, using S-Video cable, it can do 29fps with drop frame about 10% and the quality is fair enough...
    But now, I'm considering to buy a DV card or 1394 card to do the transfer, but i'm still wondering what other benefit I could get besides better movie quality?
    Is it going to have non-drop frame if you use a DV card?
    Last question, which codec is the fastest with decent video quality to use?

By the way my comp spec is:
    Celeron 566
    RAM 196 MB
    HD 15GB
    SpaceTV Tuner card

Software for capture: VirtualDub

Thanks......

2. kevenh

kevenh
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    With DV video, if you use a 1394 port to transfer the video to your pc, the video on the pc is exactly the same as on the camera.
    Because it's just a file transfer.

Hope that little snippet helps, 'cos I'm wonderring if I misunderstood your questions!

3. Dubbing Mixer

Dubbing Mixer
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    The time code issue is complex. But, if I were you I would set the camera up to do 25fps (Unless of course it's a US import NTSC only.)

4. arief_lim

arief_lim

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    kevenh:
    Using 1394 port, is it just like copy a file from the camera into computer? If that so, the transfer time would be more faster than if I capture it using a capture card?

Dubbing Mixer: