1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

difference with dynamic and basic drives

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Embarker, Sep 2, 2004.

1. Embarker

Embarker

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +59
    This is gonna be so simple and cost me loads of time copying back files

I have one drive a, which is basic and drive b which is dynamic.

In want to "boot" from drive b, by ghosting over drive a to b, yet ghost gives warnings about doing this!?! and about my USB keyboard

I am a newbie to ghosting - have I committed a cardinal sin here as I've just formated b into three partitions, 1 and 2 I wanted as boot drives so if it does not boot to 1 i can switch to 2 and 3 which i've already moved all my films to.

My goal is to remove drive a and move this to a new computer.

Have I put the cart before the horse :suicide:

any help :lease:

dave

2. Mark Ward

Mark Ward

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hi Dave,

Hopefully you'll get another reply from someone who knows what they're talking about but at this very moment I'm formatting a drive as "Basic".

XP popped up a little message telling me that Dynamic drives can be used with software RAID configurations and that a volume can be made to span more than 1 physical disk (like in unix I guess).

However when I check another computer using diskkeeper I can see a whole ton of reserved space taken up on a Dynamic drive, that appears to be free on an identical drive in the same machine formatted as basic.

Hope this helps,

Mark.

PS. How's the beard coming on?

3. The Dude

The Dude

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    OK, shouldn't be a problem but lets get my head round a few details first..

1 Are you wanting to copy the bootable system on drive A to the first partition on driveB ?

Or

2 simply clone drive A onto driveB?