1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Diff between SD and HD Panny 6.

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by kbillyard, Nov 18, 2003.

1. kbillyard

kbillyard
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quick question,

Is everyone out there that owns an SD Panny 6 happy with it ? or wish they had bought the HD Version.

I am looking at the SD version but all this talk about HDTV and the fact the that SD is indeed Lo-res is this an issue at the moment ?

I am only really looking at playing DVD's and Xbox and Sky+ so do I really need Hi-res, what would I gain..

And does progressive Pal look any different to NTSC Prog as I believe the panel has to scale it down to display it as it is only native at 480p , but I could be talking rubbish here as I am not an expert ..

Any comments as I believe there are litterally 1000's of Panny 6 owners ... someone must have compared it to the HD's..

Any comments would certainly be appreciated..

Cheers people

Karl

2. steve36

steve36

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +29
    The main reason I purchased a HD version was because I will be sitting quite close to it and the pixel structure can be quite visible to some people. As a guide most people say if you are going to sit 8 feet away or greater than you will probably not see any difference between the 2 models.
    Many people on the US forum have stated that SD material looks better on the low-res screen, that may be true with US SD (which is worse than in the UK), but I really like the picture I see with SD.

I suspect that not many people will have compared the 2 panasonics side by side as there are very few shops that supply the HD version as it is not a 'consumer' model according to Panasonic UK. That said, you should get the same service with a HD version as SD.