1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

did I waste money buying a plasma last year!

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by sanj666, Apr 14, 2005.

  1. sanj666

    sanj666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone

    sorry if this is posted in the wrong place :)


    I have been reading a lot of the forums and am now totally confused :rolleyes:

    Basically last year I bought a Panasonic viera TH 42pe30 42 inch plasma
    screen for close to £3000 having spent a couple of months reading the plasma forums and thinking it would be a good buy!

    However it now seems I want be able to watch sky HDTV on it as it doesnt have a DVI socket?

    Should I be advertising it on ebay and looking to reinvest in a newer tv?

    any advice appreciated :lease:
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,585
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +271
    Not only would it need a DVI connector (or HDMI) , but it needs to be HDCP compatible and be capable of accepting 720p signals @ 50 and 60Hz but also 1080i signals at 50 and 60Hz. Maybe you could try a trade-in for a new PV500 at your friendly Panasonic dealer. Hope this helps.

    Steve
     
  3. rimibar

    rimibar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sorry if this is a little :offtopic: but does anyone know where to look to read Sky's announcement re: hi def. I looked on their site, but couldn't find anything. Thanks!
     
  4. scarty16

    scarty16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +89
    I would agree, swap it for a new one!!!
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    Initial announcment.

    Last months update.
     
  6. rimibar

    rimibar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks a lot Stardust! Looks like I'm going to be OK, but would love to know just how much more expensive it's going to be......
     
  7. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    The Viera at that time was never intended for High Def viewing since it only has a resolution of 852*480 and so only came with connections that suited the existing analogue and digital sources.

    If you want to buy SKY+ HD and pay the extra subscription then you have to replace the Plasma it's as simple as that.
    Even if there were broadcasts that used component and you would still be left with a HD image scaled down to match the Plasma resolution and that would not be worth the cost of the new STB and extra subscription.

    You may get a much better price for the Plasma if you sell now in the hope someone knows that only want a SD panel or make the same mistake (in hindsight) that you did:)
     
  8. sanj666

    sanj666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the advice

    looks like im going to have to swallow a big loss to future proof myself

    any comments on which is the best one to get at around the £3000 mark?
     
  9. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    Only if you decide you want HD from launch, as you know the Plasma you have is well suited to the sources on offer right now and will continue to be so for many years at which point the latest HD displays will be far far cheaper.
    It could be that the extra money you get from selling now just goes on buying a suitable panel which you may have got for half the price in 12 months time which is still the official timescale for SKY HD.

    Take a trip to the Plasma forum or even the LCD/DLP and you'll find plenty of info on upcoming panels and those that currently are classed as HD Ready:)
     
  10. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    Cheaper than your amplifier but more expensive than the SKY+.
    :D
     
  11. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,585
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +271
    Have a look at the Pioneer 435XDE or new Panasonic 42PV500 which is out in May.

    Steve
     
  12. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    On a different tangent, take a look at the Sharp 37GA3 or 37GA4 LCD tv's or the Philips 379986 LCD tv. Both are 37" (Smaller I know) and have 1366x768 resolutions - better than any HD Plasmas out there (1024x768). Both are around £2400, buy a scaler with the change !

    Also, there is a 42" version of the Philips (I think it's 1366x768) for £3800 and a monster 45" version of the Sharp which will take a FULL 1920x1080 signal. This does retail at £4500 though !

    Richie.
     
  13. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,547
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,504
    Try a HD ready DLP set. :)
     
  14. sanj666

    sanj666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    so is lcd better than plasma now, when i bought mine last year the general consensus was that lcd technology "was not quiet there yet" ?
     
  15. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not IMO. LCD still has a long way to go........"not there yet" ;)
     
  16. Tony B

    Tony B
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    That's the trouble with opinions....

    The Philips LCDs are superior to most, if not all, Plasmas currently available.

    IMHO, of course.... :smashin:
     
  17. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    I thought the same for a long time, there was no way I would go down the LCD route for a big screen display instead of a Plasma solution.
    The same applied for my PC display but I eventually bought a Samsung 193P LCD which is truly excellent and that made me look at LCD for a TV more closely.

    The mess Panasonic made of DVI/HDMI cards for their series 7 50" HD panels made me cancel my long standing pre-order and after much searching/reading bought a Philips 32PF9986 which is gorgeous with both SKY, DVD and HD streamed from the PC.

    I will however say that this panel is only a stop gap, it handles all my HD requirments now and will serve as a general purpose display for years to come but eventually I want a 1920*1080 panel and I've learnt to keep a slightly more open mind tow hich tech will have the answer:)
     
  18. tomleeeee

    tomleeeee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mmm... quite a big loss. Especially with the brand new PE50's just launched at just over 2 grand! :thumbsdow
     
  19. sanj666

    sanj666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ah well i guess i could the old one in the bed room ;)
     
  20. wacko-jacko

    wacko-jacko
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Dutch

    What do you think of Piers tweeking of your plasma


    :oops: sorry to be off topic
     
  21. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,585
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +271
    Top job! After 3 hours spent setting up my plasma and Lumagen he put on the Robbie Williams Live At Knebworth DVD which looked truly amazing on close-up shots - you would think you were watching in HiDef instead of a down-converted DVD. Money well spent, I think.

    Steve
     
  22. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    sanj666 you will never "future proof" yourself mate... keep the veira until HD is in your opinion well established (actually available). Then take another look, the PE30 is great for SD TV and DVD a top bit off kit, offloading NOW would IMO be a big and costly mistake, i 2 years time there will be new display technologies, lots of HD available and manufacturers will be planning for the next big step............I certainly would sell your current screen until the Sky Hd service is launched and we actually KNOW what is what instead of guessing......... Just my opinion mind

    PS the philips LCD's really arent all that...
     
  23. Anthall

    Anthall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +4
    I agree with the Dragon, dont freak out and go buying a "HD ready" panel
    when you have something which is currently satisfying you.

    I must of bought about the same time as you for 3K, im happy as larry when im siting watching the plasma, it's just when you come on here and read all
    the stories of the future that you start to think twice.

    I bet there are some people out there who still have black and white
    tv's who are happy. Where as i just run my plasma using a black and
    white tv licence. :devil:

    Tight Ar$e
     

Share This Page

Loading...