Did anybody on here ever have an Abit motherboard?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by AlpsUk, Feb 13, 2014.

  1. AlpsUk

    AlpsUk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Wellingborough
    Ratings:
    +888
    Abit motherboards were fantastic at the time. I remember I had an Abit NF7-S2 mobo with a AMD Athlon XP2200 processor oc'ed it by 300mhz which was great bang for buck at the time.
     
  2. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    Yeah I used to have the KN8 with the nforce 4 chipset for my Fx53. Great board, crappy socket mounting system (as they all were at the time). :laugh:
     
  3. AlpsUk

    AlpsUk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Wellingborough
    Ratings:
    +888
    Mine had the nforce 2 chipset. Cracking board for enthusiasts at the time. Shame they went under.
     
  4. andiuk007

    andiuk007
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +4,868
    You've just asked a pc gaming community did we have an abit mobo, pretty much 80% of us did have back in the day. :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  5. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    I did have boards with the nforce 2 and 3 too but can't remember the models. That really was the time when AMD were leading the cpu charts. I didn't realise they had gone under, just thought they'd moved on to something else. Shame.
     
  6. MooCow

    MooCow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    Ratings:
    +539
    Yep, just chucked it when we moved house in November.
    KT7A RAID with an 1GHZ AXIA ;)
     
  7. holtehero

    holtehero
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,847
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +1,772
    I'm sure i did have an Abit at one point in time, i think they were recognised for their overclocking prowess

    Though i'd say 90% of my boards have been Asus, with the majority of the rest being Gigabyte
     
  8. Razor

    Razor
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,726
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,503
    I have never had a Mobo from any other manufacturer other than asus. :eek:
     
  9. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    But Asus weren't all that back in them days mate!! :D I think the big hitters at the time were Abit and MSI.
     
  10. Razor

    Razor
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,726
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,503

    Nah asus have always been a great board maker, well ever since I have been into pcs. I haven't a clue what make my 386 and 486 pcs were as they were prebuilt compaqs.

    When ever I come to buy a new board I always look at other manufacturers but I always seem to end up with asus.

    Talking of good board makers it was sad to see DFI disappear.
     
  11. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    24,445
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +11,775
    What? You bought at least 2 pre-built PCs?
    You think you know someone then they drop a bombshell like this. :D
     
  12. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,205
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,230
    Mine have mostly been Asus with the odd Gigabyte thrown in - the Gigabyte I have now only makes me wish I had waited for a black ASUS board as I miss the Fan control (plus the Gigabyte does not have the UEFI).

    I don't recall an abit, but my first few builds were all AMD based, so its possible.
     
  13. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    That's what I'm like now mate, nothing but Asus for me. :smashin:
    Yeah shame about DFI, those lanparty boards were pretty neat.
     
  14. Razor

    Razor
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,726
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,503
    Lmao :rotfl: the truth was I hijacked them from my father. :blush:

    They were very tidy boards. They were ahead of the curve when it came to making their boards look pretty.
     
  15. AlpsUk

    AlpsUk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Wellingborough
    Ratings:
    +888
    My first build had an Asus board. It was the A7V paired witha a AMD Duron 700 cpu and 256mb of RAM. I think I had a Gerforce 2 MX 400 gpu. Couldnt afford much more than that back in the day as I'd just finished uni.
     
  16. internetuser

    internetuser
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3,573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +285
    Class for over locking. Had a celeron 300 running at 450 plus with a abit motherboard
     
  17. Hooligaani

    Hooligaani
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +956
    This thing was a beast and was one of my many Abit boards.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Hooligaani

    Hooligaani
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +956
    Aah the classic 300a @450mhz and BH6 combo, at a time when the PII 450mhz was almost triple the price of the celeron.
     
  19. Tidy_Sammy

    Tidy_Sammy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,656
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    I did! Can't remember which model exactly, think I've got 1-2 of them still left in my cupboard actually. Had a variety of boards, think my next buy is going to be a Gigabyte though.
     
  20. Ja50nKay

    Ja50nKay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +182
    Ahh those were the days. I didn't have an Abit though. Up until 4 years ago I was running my FX60 on a MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum (NF3 Ultra). Awesome boards. Anyone else remember the mixing and matching of different components of the Nforce Chipset drivers? I think Fernando did a lot, and it was always 50/50 whether your system would boot or not after trying them first :laugh:
     
  21. Rog69

    Rog69
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    146
    Ratings:
    +2,243
    I've still got an AB9 pro in active service on my media PC, the thing is still going strong after 8 years of daily use.
     

Share This Page

Loading...