1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Diagonal lines on PW6

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by andah, Nov 10, 2004.

1. andah

andah

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    PLEASE HELP

I have read loads of threads but can't see any that relate to this problem.
    Please not this is my first plasma screen and I am no expert!!!

The set up is this :- Panasonic TH-PWD6BX, DVD connected via s-vid and Skybox connected via scart. All the sound goes via 5.1 amp.

The problem is this: When viewing sky there are diagonal lines that see to move from right to left. They are only fine lines but they are only really obvious on red backgrounds and are real bad on artificial backgrounds (adverts and the red on sky news). The sky output is on RGB. The dvd signal is fine.

thanks in advance for your help

2. phillfyspoon

phillfyspoon
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +76
    might be the quality of the cable being used.

3. hornydragon

hornydragon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    is sky set to RGB?

4. pjclark1

pjclark1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +271
    you are viewing a composite picture, turn Sky to RGB

you only think you are viewing RGB, trouble is on the SCART terminal boards
    they switch automatically, the diagonal crawl is a feature of composite signals.

5. andah

andah

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry I should have said - I have already turned the output to RGB in the Sky Picture settings menu.

Do I have to change it on the plasma as well?

6. hornydragon

hornydragon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    i cant remember if you have to manually set scart for RGB, give that a go see if there is an option