1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DHT500 - XBox & PS2 poor picture quality

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Mark Beckwith, Jan 11, 2005.

1. Mark Beckwith

Mark Beckwith

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I’m new to this lark, but I have the current set up (as suggested by Denon via several emails!)

500 > TV via Scart (thus TV sound through 500 when in TV mode)
    X Box > 500 via Video 1
    PS2 > 500 via Video 2

Originally had the 500 connected up to TV via S Video (manual suggested this would be superior to Scart), but DVDs didn’t appear too sharp. The switch to Scart solved this. Picture quality for Xbox & PS2 is poor however (looks like interference). Optical is obviously an option, but this will mean I can only connect one of them! Any help gratefully received!

2. OldSkoO1

OldSkoO1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +30
    Make sure when connecting to the TV via S-VIDEO you have it set to S-VIDEO in the setup menu on the 500.

I assume your connecting VIA S-VIDEO from the XBOX and PS2 aswell? Im not sure why theres interferance, could possibly be a damaged cable. I have an XBOX connected to mine too. I just run an optical cable from it using the advanced scart from play.com. The video goes straight to the TV. Im pretty sure if using S-VIDEO you'll need to manually select the analogue inputs on the 500 too.

hth

3. Mark Beckwith

Mark Beckwith

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had S-VIDEO selected in the setup when using the s-video cable. I've ditched using this cable though, as DVD picture quality seems better using scart.