1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DF BK Monolith

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Docta teef, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. Docta teef

    Docta teef
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +56
    Just out of interest does anyony know if there are any plans for a down firing version takl about lack of WAF i dont like its looks as it is myself. (now i should be off to put on a dress with comments like that)
     
  2. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    I would be very surprised indeed. Changing the driver orientation would probably cause havoc with the port tuning frequency so it would have to be redesigned from scratch again. I could be wrong though :)
     
  3. BK Electronics

    BK Electronics
    Active Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +25
    Hi

    I'm sorry there Docta Teef but we are not going to offer a DF version of the Monolith. Technicaly it's possible, as John say's it would need some tweeking. It's more a case of the extra model in 3 finishes that becomes a problem.

    Regards

    Tom
     
  4. Timmy!!!

    Timmy!!!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Haha! Guess you changed your plans then Tom! Im pleased you have, because imo the DF looks so much better than the FF version. Top marks for doing it!
     
  5. BK Electronics

    BK Electronics
    Active Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +25
    Your sins will find you out hey!

    As with all things you have to listen to your customers, and I'm glad to say they are once again on the mark. It certainly looks nice, maybe a little bit easier to get past the financial advisor
     
  6. andyturner28

    andyturner28
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hi Dan.

    What are the differences between the FF and DF?
    I am going to be ordering one in the next few days and can't decid which one. Do they both sound the same and if not which sounds the best? I am more interested in sound quality, i don't have another half to please:thumbsdow
    It will be used upstairs on floorboards, would i need to get an isolation pad with the DF.

    Cheers

    Andy
     
  7. BK Electronics

    BK Electronics
    Active Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +25
    Hi Andy

    With the FF you need to be about 2M away from it for the best effect, but the DF you don't. So if you listen to the two subs side by side and you are quite close the DF sounds slightly deeper than the FF, beyond 2M and with your back turned you cannot tell the difference.

    As for decoupling I would suggest the FF with spikes, but perhaps someone can share thier experience on this
     
  8. javers

    javers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure if its relevant since you've got a wooden floor but I'm running 2x Monolith FF's spiked straight into concrete. To my ears this the spikes sound punchier than just the nylon screws onto carpet, which I tried first.

    Jon
     
  9. andyturner28

    andyturner28
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    TWO MONOLITHS?!! How big is your room? I would have thought two of these is good enough for a full size cinema. I would be interested in some pictures of your set up.

    If i stood a DF on a couple of paving slabs would this stop any vibrations being transfered downstairs? (at low volumes obviousely) I really like the look of the DF now and would like to try to make it work in my set up. As i have a radiator at the front of the room it will have to live on the side wall so will be less than 2m from the listening position.

    Dan, what is the lead time on a DF currently, and do you deliver in the evening or weekends?

    Cheers

    Andy.
     
  10. GrannySmith

    GrannySmith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    278
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    I'd agree with this...only put the spikes on my Monolith to avoid leaving permanent footprints in the lounge carpet, but it deffo sounds tighter & faster this way. Still running it in, but this is one awesome sub...:eek:
     
  11. GreenEagle

    GreenEagle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maidenhead
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can the monolith use the high and low level connections simultaneously like the REL Strata 5?
     
  12. Timmy!!!

    Timmy!!!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    It sure can!

    Mine arrived today, still boxed up at the mo but tomorrow ill be unpacking it!:thumbsup:
     
  13. kit1cat

    kit1cat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +83
    No, it only has one Xover. You normally set the xover for high level input and turn it off for low level input. Check previous threads.
     
  14. Timmy!!!

    Timmy!!!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Ah, my bad!:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...