Desperately need help!! DV Editing nightmare

602sqn_Crater

Hello all,

I am pretty new to this DV editing malarky and a some urgent questions (i.e. I am meant to be editing my friend wedding video and am having REAL problems)

Machine spec: -

XP1600+ cpu
128mb Geforce 3 Ti200 gfx card
ABIT KA7A-133 motherboard
256DDR memory
60gig 7200rpm ATA100 HD
Audigy soundcard (fitted with firewire port)

Camcorder: -

Sony TRV30e

Software: -

MGI Videowave 5

My problems: -

1. I can capture from my camcorder to disk no problem. But when trying to write the edited footage (via Videowave 5) back to the camcorder I frequently get serious image corruption. Surely my HD is up to the job!

2. For some strange reason my edited footage is slightly "zoomed in" when I write to the camcorder (i.e. My titling, instead of being on the bottom of the screen, is slightly OFF the bottom). I am rendering the footage as DV-PAL, and even more strangely, if I copy it back off the camcorder onto the PC the frames and titles are fine again!

As I said, I am in the middle of editing my friends wedding video and cant save a sodding thing onto DV tape! They're due back from honeymoon this Wednesday. Please help!!!!!

Thanks in advance,

Crater

It looks like the HD cannot output to firewire fast enough. ( I am running XP and had a similar problem in 98SE when DMA was not enabled. It definately IS in XP and is a faster drive!)

I see occasional flashes of video and badly currupted sound then nothing! However, I did re-render the movie last night and mnaged to transfer if OK, but there are 2 or 3 annoying glitches (slight sound/video stutters) still present. Any ideas?

You've mentioned the usual one (DMA). I am not familiar with XP. Are you sure you don't have any 'stay resident' programs loaded or running in the background? This is probably teaching my grandmother to suck eggs as you are probably more aware of this than me.