Desktop system upgrade

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Alexalder, Jan 23, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Alexalder

Alexalder
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, this is my current setup:
    [​IMG]

I was thinking of making some upgrades with my graduation money, i guess the speakers would be the first thing to change, is that correct? What would you suggest? I don't really have a fixed budget, what would you think the first noticeable upgrade would cost?

Are there some taller speakers i could fit in there? Or should i just buy some mount to get them to my ears' level?

Thank you very much for your time, i'm a newbie

Last edited: Jan 24, 2018
  2. Paul7777x

Paul7777x

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,274
    A good inexpensive upgrade would these.

https://www.thomann.de/gb/jbl_lsr_305.htm?ref=search_rslt_JBLs+305_322770_0

£185 a pair.

And one of these as your Yamaha has no preouts.

Yamaha WXC-50 Wireless Streaming Pre-Amplifier

Save a lot of space too.

These are highly rated too. A bit more budget necessary.

https://www.thomann.de/gb/focal_shape_40.htm

Easy to attach to the wall if you’d like more desk space.

And then further up the budget range.

https://www.thomann.de/gb/prod_AR_402777.html

Legendary monitors. And as you’re up close I think you might get away without a sub. Certainly for music.

3. Alexalder

Alexalder
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    How does the preamp thing work? Does it replace the yamaha completely? Thank you for your answer :D

4. BlueWizard

BlueWizard
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,356
    The Yamaha WXC-50 is primarily a Streaming Device. Though it does have Pre-Amp capability if needed.

WXC-50 - Overview - Wireless Streaming Amplifiers - Audio & Visual - Products - Yamaha - UK and Ireland

It is relatively compact and reasonably priced.