Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Der Gamecube..........

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by Parmenion, Dec 11, 2003.

  1. Parmenion

    Parmenion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out there
    Ratings:
    +50
    I need to hook up my gamecube to an AV amp via S video. Could anyone tell me if there is a particular S video lead thats better than any other.............or if there is a particular supplier to recommend.

    Any info would be greatly received

    regards

    Parmenion
     
  2. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    If it's a UK console, then there is no option for S-vid.
     
  3. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +850
    I don't know if you know or not, but the best the gamecube can output is dpl 2.

    Sorry.
     
  4. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    I think he was talking about s-video for video switching not to do with audio :smashin:
     
  5. Parmenion

    Parmenion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out there
    Ratings:
    +50
    yes I was talking about routing the picture via S vid to my tv. Are you saying this isn't possible?

    I was led to believe that after market s video leads do exist.

    regards

    Parmenion
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    the leads sre N64 leads (cheap ones are anyway), proper job would be a JS RGB>S-vid converter but a bit more expensive than a GC lead!
    What disply are you connecting to?PLASMA, CRT, LCD PJ???
    What amp, does it do YUV switching?
     
  7. Parmenion

    Parmenion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out there
    Ratings:
    +50
    My amp is a bog standard Yamaha. It does not have component inputs or video up converting.

    what it does have is left and right phono sockets and a S video socket mounted on the front which enables me to plug in an X Box and then later a Playstation 2. What I want to do now is plug in the gamecube via s video. Is this possible

    regards

    Parmenion
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    should also have S-vid sockets on rear, best bet is RGB Scart to TV and plug LR phonos in to amp, any input will do and you will get better PQ than with S-video switched by the amp!
    What display anyway?
     
  9. Parmenion

    Parmenion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out there
    Ratings:
    +50
    The display is a 36inch TV. For many reasons, mostly involving not being able to have a games console plugged in all the time, I need to use the front S video socket. This works perfectly with the X Box and the playstation.

    Do I understand that the gamecube cannot be connected via s video

    regards

    Parmenion
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    UK GC will not output S-video, unless modded or a converter on the RGB outpu.
     
  11. tommy

    tommy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whereas the US- and JAP-versions do output SVideo like a charm :cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice