denon2900sdi

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by PAUL RODGERS, Oct 7, 2003.

  1. PAUL RODGERS

    PAUL RODGERS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just seen a Denon2900 dvd for sale for £1200, mine only cost £660 but this stated it had SDI ( serial digital input) does anybody know what this is and can the old one be upgraded if worthwhile.

    thanks Paul
     
  2. PAUL RODGERS

    PAUL RODGERS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry SDI stands for Serial Digital Interface output which maybe they all have and this website was very expensive
     
  3. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    Hi Paul,

    SDI will carry a digital interlaced picture from the MPEG decoder before the video DAC stage. These non-copy protected signals will be 480i or 576i depending on NTSC or PAL discs - DVI isn't able to carry these signals. The interlaced signal would be passed to a deinterlacer/scaler for display to a plasma or projector. Have a word with the guys at www.jvb.nl who may be able to mod your 2900. Hope this helps.

    Steve
     
  4. PAUL RODGERS

    PAUL RODGERS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Steve,

    could not get my head around what it actually means even when looking on the internet, lots of referencing but no hardcore explanations( or am i stupid).

    If you have a SDI output what kind of input does your plasma need. I would be grateful if anybody has this equipment to post there views.

    All i want is a better picture without buying a new plasma

    thanks Paul
     
  5. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    Hi Paul,

    There is only one plasma manufacturer that has put SDI on them - Electrograph Delphi - but this model is a couple of years old now. As I said before, you would need a deinterlacer/scaler with an SDI input, and preferably a DVI output. This would give a pure digital signal from DVD to screen. A scaler that can do this is the Focus Enhancements CS-2 with optional SDI input board - I'm considering one myself. See here for more info:

    http://www.ivojo.co.uk/focus-enhancements-centerstage-cs-2.htm

    Hope this helps.

    Steve
     
  6. HouseofMu

    HouseofMu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    Messages:
    376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    Dutch,

    I'd also like to know a little more about SDI.

    Whats the advantage in sending an interlaced signal via SDI to a de-interlacer/scaler as opposed to a DVI connection where the signal has been de-interlaced/scaled at source?

    Is it that the processing can be done outboard by that expensive box you included a link to ?

    If you've (or anyone) have compared a SDI and DVI connected system, can you highlight the resulting picture differences between the two ?

    Thanks

    n.
     
  7. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    Hi,

    Yes, the advantage is that the deinterlacing and scaling can be done by a device of your choice, such as the CS-2. I'm afraid I've not seen the SDI output from my 757Ai, so I can't really compare it to the scaled 768p DVI from my Momitsu.

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice