Denon X4200 with external amp

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by knarlyd, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. knarlyd

    knarlyd
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just purchased the X4200 and want to know if/how to use my old Onkyo 805 to add atmos additional speakers? Denon says it came be done but I didn't ask them how exactly.
    Does anyone know what "port" I use from my Onkyo 805 to the Denon? I'm so new to this it's scary!
    Also, I couldn't see how to post a new thread in the dedicated Denon X4200 forum?
     
  2. Iain42

    Iain42
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,476
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +1,148
    I don't have that model, but if it is the same as mine, you would need to use pre-outs on the Denon, going into the Onkyo which would then provide the power amplification for these channels.
     
  3. davidm

    davidm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Ratings:
    +142
    Yes, use the Pre-out to your Onkyo to provide power for the additional height speakers.
     
  4. knarlyd

    knarlyd
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I post in the x4200 forum? I don't see a New thread button. I now have a phase error when running audssey calibration. Won't go into too much detail here since its unrelated.
     
  5. Researcher

    Researcher
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK - Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +34
    Phase errors are not always errors, the calibration process can get it wrong which is why you can ignore it. Especially if you are now going through the Onkyo for the additional speakers.

    Re posting in the specific X4200 thread, you can't create a new thread within that - daft I know. All you can do is post in the existing one - or start a completelly new post..
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice